3D Applications Freezing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

The NEedy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
3
Hi everyone,
I keep having my 3D applications freeze like... a few minutes into having the application run. I have the latest drivers for everything. I believe everything that uses a little bit of 3D power freezes the system like Medal of Honor or even just testing my computer with 3DMarks. Here are my specs

WINDOWS XP PRO
AMD ATHLON XP 2200+
256 PC2700 MB DDR
100 gig HD 7200 rpm
GeforceTi 4200 64MB
Sound Blaster Live! 5.1

Thanks a lot for your help! If I forget any details, please feel free to ask me.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2001
Messages
104
You need to make sure that the drivers that you have for your video card are designed for windows xp. If they are, you need to make sure that your card supports open gl. I know that mohaa requires open gl.

hope that helps

aj
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
305
How long have you had this problem? Make sure you don't have any programs in the background running that might interfere with you game.
 

The NEedy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
3
I've been having this problem for a while now. Yes, the drivers are made for windows xp. I need to check up on open gl, though. Thanks for helping me out guys but are there any other reasons why? I'm such a newb... how can I check to see if it is compatible with open gl?
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
13
Hi All,

Mohaa has been freezing every ten Minutes like clockwork for sometime now.

What is the Most common Cause of this problem, is it Internet or Video Related, and How might I solve it?

I have done most of the Obvious things to try and fix it (uninstall/reinstall, temp files, check for progs running in background ect.) And im about rdy to cry...

-MacArthur
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
291
give us your specs and all.

i sympathize with you. i can't play ANY games, except nethack 3.4.1
mine freezes worse than yours. it locks up for about 2 minutes then allows me all of about 2 seconds to do something then re=freezes. :(

i'm going to try another bios update, as i believe its mobo related. one day everything was perfect, the next it was awful. i'm having withdrawals from my games, so i understand your desire to cry.

*big hug*

anyway, lets hear your specs and see what can be done.

V***V
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
5
Appears that I too am having the same problem here... i am on a Compaq Presario, 500Mhz 128 RAM, 64 meg radeon graphics card, running Windows 2000(just upgraded to see if it would help the problem....

Well now that you have my specs... the problem is when i play any games... doesn't have to be online just games in general like he said, (3D) Counter-Strike, Natural Selection. all of them... also offline Starcraft and Age of Empires.... another problem is Imesh, I'll be listening to music and it just freezes... when it locks up... i can't even turn off the computer, like it disables my power button.. so i have to unplug to restart... any help would be greatly appriciated!!!!!!
 

MysticEyes

Banned
Joined
Mar 30, 2002
Messages
4,825
Well you first want to make sure it isn't a heat problem. Pull the side off your case and set up a desk/house fan to blow onto the mobo.

You could also try reseating your mem and vid card.

With AMD systems Power Supplies and the latest 4 in 1's are very important. Ca you borrow another, at least 350w, PS to try?

Bad memory can also cause a host of weird problems. Borrow a stick from someone to try.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
5
Ok I'll try that but honestly i think i'm just going to go ahead and buy a new computer... so i think i need to go to another thread for tips on where to buy and what to get.. thanks for your help, i'll try what you suggested atleast
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top