1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

3D Mark2001se will NOT run on MY xp

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Chunter, Feb 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    i guys n gals,
    i've just started using windows xp pro and my problem is that 3D mark 2001se will not run on my computer at all,not with directx 8 or 9.
    8 times out of ten it just crashes back to desktop,the other times it crashes then reboots the computer.i have no idea whats causing this or how to fix it.
    it gets to the third test then just gives up.
    any ideas ?

    computer specs

    amd 2.4 xp
    geforce 4 ti4200 with detonators 42.51 drivers
    512 sdram
    soundblaster 512 pci

    hope someone can help me cure this as the way i see it ,if its doing it in 3d mark,it'll do it in my games and i want to cure this before i even install them
    thanks in advance

    Chunter


    BAD RAM WAS THE CULPRIT THX GUYS (edited by me 21 feb 2003 )
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    try downloading the 2 mb update from the supplier

    3DMark®2001 Second Edition Patch (Build 300 -> 330)


    http://www.futuremark.com/download/

    Sorry just read it won't run on your system

    Minimum System requirements
    Intel® compatible 500MHz or faster processor
    128MB of RAM (256MB recommended)
    100MB of free hard drive space (installed)
    Windows® 98/SE/ME/2000/XP
    DirectX®8.1 or later
    A modern 3D accelerator with 32MB of memory

    I think this means that it won't run on an athlone
     
  3. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    it can't be problems with an athlone as it runs perfectly under win 98
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    That may be , I'm only quoting what it says on their site, Possibly Xp uses different cpu drivers to 98 and that's why it's crashing if it can't recognise the driver it needs to run an AMD

    Or have you overclocked the processor

    Have you downloaded the update

    try running it in 98 compatability mode
     
  5. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    ok i think its driver related as i disabled the function that makes xp reboot on crashing and i got this on my bsod

    nv4disp.dll address BFA74F4F base at BF9B8000 DATESTAMP 3DD970D4

    so it looks like a 40 series display dll thats causing the problem..but i can't find that particular dll on my system.
    gonna try the win 98 compatability mode too.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117327

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice