Solved 3tb+unlock need help please

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kunkkkka

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
5
hi guys i have 3tb+unlock it says available drivers 2048gb but i cant click on create,recover or parition. what should i do? i have window 10. please help
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
It's not showing any drives, you're looking at, "Available Drives > 2048GB" is actually the heading for the box that would show the detected drives.

Do you have a drive larger than 3TB and a really old system that is not recognizing it's full capacity? What drive do you have and what motherboard do you have?
 
Last edited:

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
read what it actually does here http://www.gigabyte.com/microsite/276/3tb.html
It only works on drives bigger than 2048 gb and only on 32 bit systems
If you haven't got a drive bigger than 2048gb it won't display anything and it only works on specified GIGABYTE motherboards
 

kunkkkka

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
5
It's not showing any drives, you're looking at, "Available Drivers > 2048GB" is actually the heading for the box that would show the detected drives.

Do you have a drive larger than 3TB and a really old system that is not recognizing it's full capacity? What drive do you have and what motherboard do you have?
It's not showing any drives, you're looking at, "Available Drives > 2048GB" is actually the heading for the box that would show the detected drives.

Do you have a drive larger than 3TB and a really old system that is not recognizing it's full capacity? What drive do you have and what motherboard do you have?
hi rob sorry for late reply. yes it is old system. i didnot notice until now. it was my first time building my own computer. i think it has been 3year. i think i messed up something. do u mean this?
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
you only have a 120gb drive showing, so the 3tb+ won't do anything. It only allows a larger than 2TB to be used with older 32 bit OS
 

kunkkkka

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
5
you only have a 120gb drive showing, so the 3tb+ won't do anything. It only allows a larger than 2TB to be used with older 32 bit OS
hi derek thanksyou for replying. how can i fix it? it was my first time building my own pc and i want to have 2 drive.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
if you need a bigger or additional drive, buy a bigger one & install it as a secondary drive
you can't use software to make your existing drive bigger
 

kunkkkka

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
5
if you need a bigger or additional drive, buy a bigger one & install it as a secondary drive
you can't use software to make your existing drive bigger
thank you derek for suggestion. i think i got rigged by the person who build the pc. i think i will just leave it as it is. it was my first time buildpc next time i will make sure i will keep that in mind. it was amout of hkd 10k(1289 usd) for that build. i m gonna learn from my mistake. thank you rob and derek for helping. i will close this post.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Nothing wrong with having a 120GB SSD as the boot drive but most people add a secondary drive just for data storage. They keep the OS and programs on the super fast SSD and everything else on a slower and larger traditional HDD.
 

kunkkkka

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2016
Messages
5
Nothing wrong with having a 120GB SSD as the boot drive but most people add a secondary drive just for data storage. They keep the OS and programs on the super fast SSD and everything else on a slower and larger traditional HDD.
ok thanks for helping be rob. i have closed this poll
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top