1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

4 gb or 8gb ddr2 ram - worth upgrading?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Nutech12, Jan 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nutech12

    Nutech12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    446
    Hi I have AMD 7750 dual-core 7750 2.70ghz CPU with 4GB DDR2 ram.

    OS: Win7 64bit

    Software:

    AutoCAD r2010
    REVIT 2014
    IExplorer
    Firefox
    MS Office
    etc.

    Would i see a noticeable difference? I realize that my CPU is old, but until I launch Autocad or REVIT the PC runs fine, lags a little but perhaps it just might need backing up and doing the re-install of the OS and softwares.

    Your thoughts?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may benefit with the cad/cam software

    http://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...rements-for-Autodesk-Revit-2014-Products.html
    have a look at the task manager performance and see what the CPU usage is like
     
  3. Nutech12

    Nutech12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    446
    Hi, thanks for your reply. I thought I'd attached a JPG of my Task Manager. You can see whats happening. After i closed REVIT it droped a few % averages anywhere up and down from 10% to 44%
     

    Attached Files:

  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    Can you also provide an image of the "Processes" tab so we can see how many and what processes are running?

    Also try to make the images larger so they're not so hard to see.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Nutech12

    Nutech12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    446
    Hi here are 3 process windows:

    untitled_none.jpg No graphics s/w running.

    untitled_ACAD.jpg With AutoCAD running

    untitled_Revit.jpg With Revit 2014 running

    Hope this helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm on my Windows 10 desktop right now, and my Task Manager window looks completely different than yours does in Windows 7, so I can't make a comparison right now.

    Autodesk Revit and AutoCAD are definitely memory hogs, and I'm also surprised to see how much of a memory hog Firefox is.

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    Allan is correct.

    The AMD Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition processor has a clock speed of 2.70 GHz (2700 MHz).

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Nutech12

    Nutech12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    446
    You are both correct. However, while running PC Wizard, it reports current @ 1356.75

    Another question... I beleive to be a real easy one for you guys:

    Hi All.... So I splurged and bought 2 pieces of DDR2 @ 2GB each and so far PC seems to be running fine. I'll know better tomorrow if it runs better when I have Vectorworks, and other s/w running.

    In the meantime what I would like to ask, is that the new ram 'KINGBOX' added to my PC seems to have a better spec than the original (ADATA) ones that I had.

    I have two white slots and two brown slots, the white slots are closer to the CPU. Would it matter that much if I have these KINGBOX chips in the white slots?

    Here are the specs on both:

    > Physical Memory : 8192 MB DDR2-SDRAM

    >> General Information
    DIMM0 (RAS 0, RAS 1) : 2048 (Double Bank)
    DIMM1 (RAS 2, RAS 3) : 2048 (Double Bank)
    DIMM2 (RAS 4, RAS 5) : 2048 (Double Bank)
    DIMM3 (RAS 6, RAS 7) : 2048 (Double Bank)

    >> Information SPD EEPROM (DIMM0)
    Manufacturer : A-Data Technology
    Part Number : DQVE1B16
    Serial Number : Unspecified
    Type : DDR2-SDRAM PC2-6400 (399 MHz) - [DDR2-799]
    Format : Regular UDIMM (133.35 x 3)
    Size : 2048 MB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
    Module Buffered : No
    Module Registered : No
    Module SLi Ready (EPP) : No
    Width : 64-bit
    Error Correction Capability (ECC) : No
    Max. Burst Length : 8
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8, Self Refreshµs
    Voltage : SSTL 1.8v
    Prefetch Buffer : 4-bit
    Manufacture : Week 4 of 2009
    Supported Frequencies : 200 MHz, 266 MHz, 399 MHz
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 3 clocks @ 200 MHz, 4 clocks @ 266 MHz, 5 clocks @ 399 MHz
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 3 clocks @ 200 MHz, 4 clocks @ 266 MHz, 5 clocks @ 399 MHz
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 3 clocks @ 200 MHz, 4 clocks @ 266 MHz, 5 clocks @ 399 MHz
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 9 clocks @ 200 MHz, 12 clocks @ 266 MHz, 18 clocks @ 399 MHz
    Min TRC : 12 clocks @ 200 MHz, 16 clocks @ 266 MHz, 23 clocks @ 399 MHz

    >> Information SPD EEPROM (DIMM1)
    Manufacturer : A-Data Technology
    Part Number : DQVE1B16
    Serial Number : Unspecified
    Type : DDR2-SDRAM PC2-6400 (399 MHz) - [DDR2-799]
    Format : Regular UDIMM (133.35 x 3)
    Size : 2048 MB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
    Module Buffered : No
    Module Registered : No
    Module SLi Ready (EPP) : No
    Width : 64-bit
    Error Correction Capability (ECC) : No
    Max. Burst Length : 8
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8, Self Refreshµs
    Voltage : SSTL 1.8v
    Prefetch Buffer : 4-bit
    Manufacture : Week 4 of 2009
    Supported Frequencies : 200 MHz, 266 MHz, 399 MHz
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 3 clocks @ 200 MHz, 4 clocks @ 266 MHz, 5 clocks @ 399 MHz
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 3 clocks @ 200 MHz, 4 clocks @ 266 MHz, 5 clocks @ 399 MHz
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 3 clocks @ 200 MHz, 4 clocks @ 266 MHz, 5 clocks @ 399 MHz
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 9 clocks @ 200 MHz, 12 clocks @ 266 MHz, 18 clocks @ 399 MHz
    Min TRC : 12 clocks @ 200 MHz, 16 clocks @ 266 MHz, 23 clocks @ 399 MHz

    >> Information SPD EEPROM (DIMM2)
    Manufacturer : KINGBOX Technology
    Part Number : 64T256020EU2.5C2
    Serial Number : 0201E913
    Type : DDR2-SDRAM PC2-6400 (399 MHz) - [DDR2-799]
    Format : Regular UDIMM (133.35 x 3)
    Size : 2048 MB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
    Module Buffered : No
    Module Registered : No
    Module SLi Ready (EPP) : No
    Width : 64-bit
    Error Correction Capability (ECC) : No
    Max. Burst Length : 8
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8, Self Refreshµs
    Voltage : SSTL 1.8v
    Prefetch Buffer : 4-bit
    Manufacture : Week 48 of 2008
    Supported Frequencies : 333 MHz, 399 MHz
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 4 clocks @ 333 MHz, 5 clocks @ 399 MHz
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 5 clocks @ 333 MHz, 6 clocks @ 399 MHz
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 5 clocks @ 333 MHz, 6 clocks @ 399 MHz
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 15 clocks @ 333 MHz, 18 clocks @ 399 MHz
    Min TRC : 20 clocks @ 333 MHz, 24 clocks @ 399 MHz

    >> Information SPD EEPROM (DIMM3)
    Manufacturer : KINGBOX Technology
    Part Number : 64T256020EU2.5C2
    Serial Number : 0201E513
    Type : DDR2-SDRAM PC2-6400 (399 MHz) - [DDR2-799]
    Format : Regular UDIMM (133.35 x 3)
    Size : 2048 MB (2 ranks, 8 banks)
    Module Buffered : No
    Module Registered : No
    Module SLi Ready (EPP) : No
    Width : 64-bit
    Error Correction Capability (ECC) : No
    Max. Burst Length : 8
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8, Self Refreshµs
    Voltage : SSTL 1.8v
    Prefetch Buffer : 4-bit
    Manufacture : Week 48 of 2008
    Supported Frequencies : 333 MHz, 399 MHz
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 4 clocks @ 333 MHz, 5 clocks @ 399 MHz
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 5 clocks @ 333 MHz, 6 clocks @ 399 MHz
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 5 clocks @ 333 MHz, 6 clocks @ 399 MHz
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 15 clocks @ 333 MHz, 18 clocks @ 399 MHz
    Min TRC : 20 clocks @ 333 MHz, 24 clocks @ 399 MHz

    >> Memory Controller Information
    Memory Controller : DIMM, SDRAM
    Number of connectors : 4
    Max. Module Size : 4096 MB
    Max. Memory Size : 16384 MB
    Supported Speed : 70ns, 60ns
    Supported Voltages : 3.3v
    Error Detection Method : 64-bit ECC
    Error Correction Capability : None
    Current/Supported Interleave : 1-way/1-way

    Thank you again for your help.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    All 4 - 2 GB modules are DDR2 PC2-6400(DDR2-800 MHz), 1.8 volt, unbuffered, non-ECC.

    The only difference is the CAS latency.

    The A-Data modules are 5-5-5-18.

    The Kingbox modules are 5-6-6-18.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    I would concentrate on getting the Cpu to run at it's full speed unless you already know it's being automatically turned down by the Bios or Windows power options or some software from the makers. I noticed it's a black edition AMD CPU so the FSB multiplier can be changed.
     
  12. Nutech12

    Nutech12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    446
    Is this something difficult to do? I have always heard about pushing an AMD CPU, I guess its called Overclocking... is it?

    Also, my CPU frequency, switches from 1356 MHz to the spec'd 2700MHz, back and forth... Is this normal?
     
  13. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    It can be normal if 'Cool and Quiet' is running, you can check with the info here :- http://www.asus.com/uk/support/FAQ/101222/

    You can leave it running if you wish, it will only slow down the Cpu when it's not doing much, which is ok.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1142068

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice