1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

4-Pin Mobo 'boot' Problem??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Angriff, Nov 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Angriff

    Angriff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    I've been experiencing problems with my Asus AM2 motherboard. Simply, I have been wondering why my motherboard hasn't been allowing me to boot my computer. I turn it on and 15 seconds later, it'll shut off. For weeks, I thought it had been my power supply even though I tried 3 and got the same results. I tried to troubleshoot the problem by unplugging 1 thing at a time (HDD, SATA, drives,) But I noticed that when I unplug my 4-pin connector next to my CPU, my computer will actually run but it won't boot Windows, obviously. I just need to know if anyone suspects it be anything else? Possibly a power supply problem? Or an electric shortage problem? CPU problem? I ordered a new MSI 785g AM2+ Mobo suspecting it'll be the solution. Can I get anyone's ideas? Thank's. (y)
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,098
    First Name:
    Jim
    Typical causes would be the power supply or motherboard. Sounds like you have already eliminated the power supply.
     
  3. Angriff

    Angriff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    This is whatt I assumed. Any clue how a motherboard ends up having this problem? Causes?
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,098
    First Name:
    Jim
    Any number of causes. Faulty hardware, power surge, low quality power supply, etc.
     
  5. Angriff

    Angriff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Yeahh, I guess. I brought 3 different power supplies into my Computer Maintenance class to put on the tester. Each power supply had the exact same lights lit except one. It was -5v or 5v and it wasn't lit. I couldn't figure out anywhere what it meant. Do you have an idea?
     
  6. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,098
    First Name:
    Jim
  7. Angriff

    Angriff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Would it be such a disaster if only one of them didn't display a voltage light?
     
  8. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    It's normal for a power supply tester to not show a -5v rail. -5v hasn't been used on motherboards in quite a few years and most power supply manufacturers no longer provide a -5v rail.
     
  9. Angriff

    Angriff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Cool, thanks. :D That has been bothering me for quite a few weeks..
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026004

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice