1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

400GB WD Caviar IDE hard drive shows only 37 GB

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ubamous3, Sep 30, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. ubamous3

    ubamous3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    547
    WD 400G ATA hard drive.jpg Hello,

    I have an old IDE WD Caviar 400GB hard drive. When I first used it, it was 400GB. However, a few years later, when I plug in the computer, it only shows 37.24 GB. From computer management and partitioning softwares, they all show it to be 37.24. This is the second hard drive of mine that does this. It's very puzzling as I didn't have this problem before when I had used it. I am on Windows 7 and have used many large TB sized HDD's on this computer without problem.

    I tried formatting it and creating a new partition as well as changing it to GPT but no luck. Looking at the physical jumper, it was set on pin 1 and 2 (cable select)

    I hope someone can shed some light.

    Here are some pics related to the drive.

    Thank you in advance 9-30-2019 11-02-57 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-20-29 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-18-20 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-17-55 PM.png 9-30-2019 11-02-57 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-20-29 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-18-20 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-17-55 PM.png 9-30-2019 11-02-57 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-20-29 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-18-20 PM.png 9-30-2019 10-17-55 PM.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2019
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,711
    First Name:
    Jim
    Jumpers have no effect on the drive size, only on whether or not it will be recognized and useable if connected to an IDE controller.

    How exactly is it being connected to the computer/motherboard?
     
    ubamous3 likes this.
  3. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,711
    First Name:
    Jim
    Nevermind, the WD400 drive is a 40GB drive.

    So what you are seeing is completely normal.
     
    ubamous3 likes this.
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,947
    First Name:
    Frank
    Jim is correct.
    The Western Digital WD400 is a 40 GB model which has an actual capacity of 37.24 GB.

    Just because it has "400" as part of its model number doesn't mean it's a 400 GB model.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
    ubamous3 likes this.
  5. ubamous3

    ubamous3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    547
    Haha oh my, seeing the WD400, I thought it's 400 GB. Thanks guys :)
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,947
    First Name:
    Frank
    Part of your first image is cut off, but if you look at the "Drive Parameters:" section to the left of the black circle, it's my guess it says 40.0 GB

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    ubamous3 likes this.
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - 400GB Caviar hard
  1. Lu Zhun
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    117

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1233656

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice