1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

486&CD-Rom

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mustangn5, Nov 16, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mustangn5

    mustangn5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Hello,
    I need to know why I can't get my cd-rom to work with my 486sx. Can anyone help me? Either post reply here, or reply to [email protected]

    Thank You
     
  2. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    What OS are you running?

    Have you tried to use the drive in dos, maybe with a startup disk that loads cd rom drivers?

    Is it a standard ide CDrom or a proprietary CDrom that connects to a soundcard ide channel.

    How do you have it configured? as Master/slave

    on primary/secondary ide channel.

    Is the drive alone on the ide channel?
     
  3. mustangn5

    mustangn5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Win 3.1
    yes, i cannot load the drivers from dos. it says atapi device not found.
    I'm not sure if it's a standard cvd-rom or a proprietary device, therefore needing a soundcard.
    I've tried it as master and slave, on the primary and secondary ide channel.
    I have my HD running as master on one ide card and my cd-rom on another ide card as master as well. It reads the HD quite fine.
    Hopefully I can maybe pick a cheap sound card and try that.
    thanx
     
  4. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    sorry this isn't advice but I remember (the last time I worked with a 486) trying to get this cdrom to work with a 486 running win 3.1. I had the same problem and eventually just gave up and concluced it was because the cdrom was much newer than the os and rest os system. I'm sure there is a real explanation but it wasn't just easiest to say that.
     
  5. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    Did the cdrom come with the computer or no?

    Can you find out what model and manufacture it is?

    You said you had the HD on one ide card and the CDrom on another?

    so you have to ide cards? can you get the manufacture and model of the ide cards. They are probably ISA cards, but don't know for sure.


    Just trying to get as much info as possible so we all can figure this one out.


    Are there any ide channels on the motherboard? What motherboard is it?

    may have to open up computer to see, but the info wil help a lot.
     
  6. mustangn5

    mustangn5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    no, cd didn't come with computer
    cd is a pioneer model dr-2111.
    i downloaded the driver files from internet. but when i run setup from disk, says that no atapi device found, yet cd-rom says atapi on top of it.

    1 card is a promise IO card
    the other i don't know.
    both cards are ISA

    should i be doing something in bios?
     
  7. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    assuming that you tried to load the drivers right

    it's probably the ide card not recognizing.


    I have had problems getting eide atapi device working on ide cards sometimes.

    I will see what I can find.
     
  8. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
  9. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    this also may be the reason why http://support.promise.com/PCSFAQS/ID_PCS.asp?ID=79 (even though you probably got your hard drive on the promise and the cdrom on the other)


    you may have to updgrade to win95 (fresh install would be better) or win98(have to bypass some things though)

    or maybe there is something in the bios that can be set.


    You may have to edit the bios for the other ide controller card or you may have to try to run the cdrom as a slave of your hard drive on the promise. Or do some swapping around.

    What's the model # of your motherboard? Or the bios string.?
     
  10. BoBjOb

    BoBjOb

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4
  11. BoBjOb

    BoBjOb

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Those are the drivers for my CD-Rom. They should pick up ANY IDE CD-Rom. I believe the URL above has everything and anything you'll need to get ANY of those drivers working. But I have no affiliation with them, so don't ask me. And if you can't get the windows drivers to work just use the DOS ones.
     
  12. Senior Tech

    Senior Tech

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Have you checked the BIOS to make sure it is enabled?
     
  13. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Can you post the contents of the Autoexec.bat and Config.sys files ??
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58760

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice