550 must be authenticated

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fiercetech2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
17
Hi i recieved this message on 2003 office outlook when i was trying to send a message to someone. is there a way to fix this.

Thanks
 

fiercetech2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
17
This 550 message comes when i try and press send recive button saying the message did not go through how do i fix this error.

This is urgent PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
That normally means that you are trying to use an email server other than that of the ISP you connect to.

To get any useful help, more info is needed.

Has this always happened?
Does it happen on just this one email address?
Who is your ISP?
What is the "domain name" of the email recipient for which this error pops up (do not post the entire address here, just the last part after the @)
 

fiercetech2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
17
this happens on one account @iiit.org this happend sometime last week and the exchange server is not here where it is happening it is somewhere else i am not running the site to the e-mail
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
fiercetech2 said:
this happens on one account @iiit.org this happend sometime last week and the exchange server is not here where it is happening it is somewhere else i am not running the site to the e-mail
Sorry I do not understand your reply.

I understand the "iiit.org domain", but your unpunctuated sentence seems to have lost the rest for me.

What do you by mean "the exchange server is not here"?

Are you connecting from a domestic residence or from a company, via a network and server? (if the latter, then the company IT manager would be the first port of call).

This error, if you are a home user and not part of a company network, usually means that the site (iiit.org, in this case) cannot be sent email by your ISP. Have you rung your ISP to find out why? They should be able to tell you, but we can't if everything else is working OK.
 

fiercetech2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
17
The exchange server is being runned by another company for us. i have not called the people who are running the server i guess it is a good idea to call them. this part of a company network not home use.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
1
Go here:

1. Tools
2. Options
3. Mail Setup
4. Email Accounts
5. Check 'view or change existing e-mail accounts' and click next.
6. Click appropriate account and click on change
7. Go to 'more settings'
8. G0 to Outgoing Server tab
9. Check on 'log onto incoming mail server before sending mail'

Hope that helps.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top