+5v spiking to 5.5+!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xbjim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
11
previously,

i had an allied 400watt power supply which has an asus a7v333-x mb, athlon xp 2600 cpu, western digital HD, soundblaster pci sound card, benq 52/32/52 cd/rw, radeon 9700pro, 1.25GB of kingston pc2700 ram. (2 512 and 1 256 and) 2 80mm fans hooked up to it.

using asus probe 2, the +5v kept spiking to 5.5. also sometimes the computer would freeze in video game with a constant, high pitched, "beeee" sound.

asus probe reported:

+12v: 12.384
+5v: 4.999
+3.3v: 3.264
Vcore: 1.728

in motherboard monitor it reported:

+12v: 12.52
+5v: 5.00
+3.3v: 3.26
Vcore: 1.73
-12v: -13.09
-5v: -5.49


since then ive bought an antec 350W PSU (SL350 is the model).. i installed it earlier today and am still having the same problems. but also saw all rails spike.

ive sent a tech request to asus but got a copy paste answer which didnt really help much.

is 350W enough?
could it be the motherboard? or something other than the PSU (i would think since 2 diff psu's both have the same thing happening but maybe 350 isnt enough)

what can i do to trouble shoot this?

thanks!

--
Asus A7V333-X
AMD Athlon 2600+
(2x512MB) Kingston Valueram PC2700
(1x256) Corsair Valueram PC2700
Radeon 9700 Pro
Soundblaster PCI 16
Antec 350W SL350
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome.

What is the voltage on the video card? Not sure if this applies or not. Some boards won't play nice with 3.3 volt video cards.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
AGP I assume?

http://www.ati.com/products/radeon9700/radeon9700pro/specs.html

Intel® Pentium® 4/III/II/Celeron™, AMD® K6/Duron™/Athlon®/Athlon XP® or compatible with AGP 2X (3.3v), 4X (1.5V), 8X (0.8v) or Universal AGP 3.0 bus configuration (2X/4X/8X).


http://usa.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=A7V333-X&langs=09
1 x AGP 4X

Not sure what the voltage requirement for the slot is. My motherboard manual specifically tells me not to use a 3.3 volt card. You might check the manual or do a bit of research....or perhaps someone who knows more about the voltages will check in :D Offhand, I would assume that this isn't an issue, but one never knows :D
 

xbjim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
11
yes, agp.

ill check the manual right now.

says, AGP Slot. This Accelerated Grahpics Port (AGP) slot only supports 1.5V AGP4X mode graphics cards for 3D graphical applications.

thats all it says :(
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Ok, I've got to go offline and test a new motherboard. So if the computer Gods are good to me, I should be back soon, if not :eek: who knows :D

Have a good evening if I don't return.
 

xbjim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
11
i checked the bios and its set to AGP 4X and 1.5V for the agp slot.

after windows loaded, i loaded up planetside (video game) and the +5V started to beep in asus probe :(
 

xbjim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
11
hmm i dunno whats up with that asus probe but it just started going off saying the CPU was at 82C but MBM5 reported 56C.

edit: k i went and downloaded an updated version of asus probe.. and testing agian like before, running planetside.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
The card sounds like it should be ok.

I'd look into the bios cup temps more though. 82C is waaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyy too hot :eek:

I'm having technical difficulties testing my motherboard, I thought I could just hook it up outside the case without removing the other one, but too many connectors aren't going to reach :( So, I need to rip things apart.
 

xbjim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
11
new asus probe went off just like the old one :(

but no false over heating.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,958
Man, you need to check your HSF and case cooling. 82*C will kill your processor pretty quickly.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,958
OK, I read you think asus probe was giving you false readings. 56*C is still kind of warm but not fatal.
Try speedfan for a few and see what it says. I've had asus boards that the probe failed miserably on. I ended up checking the voltages with a multimeter and speedfan was giving me more accurate readings than the probe.
 

xbjim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
11
speed fan reports a bunch of temps:

these have a fire icon:
Temp2: 79C
Temp: 79C
Temp4: 54C

these are switching between a blue down arrow and a green check mark:

Temp1: 31C
Temp3: 15C
Temp: 15C

and here are the voltage numbers

VCOREA: 1.73V
VINR0: 1.73V
+3.3V: 3.25V
+5V: 4.89V
+12V: 12.34V
-12V: 11.28V
-5V: -4.89V



edit: everything looks the same in speedfan and motherboard monitor 5 except for:

-12V and -5V..

MBM5:
-12V: -12.89
-5V: -5.41

speedfan:

-12V: -11.28 (and switched to -11.34 then back down)
-5V: -4.86
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Can you look in the bios for PC Health? I don't rely too much on those downloadable programs.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top