602 lan suit

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

will182

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
1,149
i have donwloaded the 602 lan suite now it says its free up to 5 users so getting the internet connection on my other computer withought a router with this is free is it? could someone help me on this, also i have tried using this 602 lan suite and i cant get onto the internet on my old computer connected to the computer with the internet via lan

thanks: will
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
It does work, but it is not a simple task to set it up. I would certainly not recommend trying unless you have a reasonable knowledge of networks and connection sharing.
There are easier ways.
What is it you are actually trying to achieve? Explain your set-up (ie what computers are connected to what, and what versions of windows on each). We will then be able to advise you on the best way to proceed.
 

will182

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
1,149
ok well for starters both computers are on windows xp one on home and one on pro they are connected via a crossover cable linked into the lan cards now file sharing work ok and i was told that i could get the internet on my other computer using this lan suit 602 and by using this i would be able to use my existing setup and there would be no need for a router
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Look up internet connection sharing (aka ICS) in the network help on one of the machines.
It is built in to XP. It will do all the hard work for you (there is a wizard)
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Right click on Network Neighbourhood (or Connections) on the Desktop (I can't remember the exact name off the top of my head). Select Properties. When window opens select Help and do a search for ICS. Browse down the list and read the suggestions.

Netmeeting is a different thing.
 

will182

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
1,149
i cant find any suggestions hmm if i linked the crossover cable to a dial up modem would i be able to dial into the main computer with the internet and get the internet on both computers or if not could you help configure this 602 lan suit thing
 

will182

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
1,149
i dont have a router for this and it seems to me that i need a router for this or somthing i just dont get it
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
No you don't.
I quote:
The ICS server computer must have two network connections: one for the Internet, and one for the local area network. The Internet connection may be a dial-up (PPP or ISDN), cable modem, DSL, or other broadband Ethernet connection. The LAN connection may be a wired, wireless, or even a USB Ethernet connection. Before enabling ICS:
You will have two connections on the machine you intend to use as a server.
1) Is the dial-up modem
2) Is the network card you have connected the two machines together with.

You don't need to worry about routers and thing like that as you have already set up the local network using the two network cards and a crossover cable. The bit you are interested in is the Internet connection sharing. That is sharing the dial up with the other machine. Run the ICS wizard on the machine with the modem.
 

will182

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
1,149
lets see i dont have dial up i have a usb adsl modem for 1mb braodband and i have a lan card in each comuter and there connected via a crossover cable and i am on aol do you mean i have to put a dial up modem in my old pc (the one with no internet)
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
The ADSL modem behaves as if it is a dial-up modem. Where it says dial up, substitute USB ADSL.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top