1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

64-Bit Motherboards

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by garystan, Sep 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. garystan

    garystan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Hi people :
    Can you tell if a Motherboard is a 64-Bit Motherboard by just looking at it ? With what research I've done, some specs mention "DDR4". Other than that, how DO you tell if a motherboard is a 64-bit Motherboard ?
    Thanks
    garystan
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,672
    Why not simply look at the information on the motherboard to glean a part number, and then do a Google search for it?
     
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    DDR4 is the latest type of computer memory (aka ram).

    If a motherboard can run a 64 bit CPU then it's 64 bit. All modern motherboards are 64 bit.
     
  4. garystan

    garystan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    lochlomonder :
    Most of the time I'll copy the board "name" and go to the board website for further details. garystan
     
  5. garystan

    garystan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    managed :
    I happened to think of something..........if a board uses DDR4-XXXX RAM, than more-than-likely it's a 64-bit board, right ? garystan
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,922
    I highly doubt you will find any modern motherboards that do not support 64bit processors.
    Stick with a quality board mfg ie asus, gigabyte or asrock. Select what processor you want then check the motherboard support page to be sure that processor is supported. Choose ram from the approved or qvl list and you should be good to go.
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    If a board needs DDR4 ram then it's absolutely 100% certain it can run a 64 bit Cpu which is where the 64 bit designation really comes from.

    Also you can have 32 or 64 bit versions of Operating Systems like Windows and Linux. These days the main difference is you need 64 bit to run more than 4GB of ram and the drivers for 64 bit may be different than the ones for 32 bit.

    There's no reason to go 32 bit any more, 64 bit is the normal option now.

    You need to decide if you want an INTEL or an AMD Cpu first.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1216179

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice