1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

98 laptop install without

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by dark4une, Jan 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dark4une

    dark4une Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    I have a sony vaio laptop PCG-748 without a CD rom, I purchased a PCMICA CD Rom so it would have one for installs and music etc...
    The operating system on the laptop became unstable and now I can no longer access it but without a CD Rom I do not know if it is possible to reinstall operating system is there a work around or a way to get dos to recognize the PCMCIA card CD Rom?

    Thanks
     
  2. Deodar

    Deodar

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    No,without a CD it is useless IMHO.Have a look in C:Windows,the set up files should be in
    there.If you can find the file with the icon you'll be familiar with from downloading exe
    files-you can double click it to run Setup.Installing without a CD Drive is (dare I say) not
    possible.The graphic for the Icon is a CD but the file is on the HD.
     
  3. Tapeuup

    Tapeuup

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,695
    in the bios, some laptops will have PCMCIA options, have you checked it?
     
  4. Old Bob

    Old Bob

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    491
    dark4une,

    What is "The operating system on the laptop...." ???

    Do you have a copy of the operating sytem [or system restore] on a CD ??

    Does the CD drive you have plug into the PCMICA port ???
     
  5. dark4une

    dark4une Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Answers as follows:
    I have not figured out how to get into the bios on this laptop.
    OS is win 98se
    Yes I have a disk
    CD ROM does plug into a PCMICA slot

    Thanks for the help so far.
     
  6. dark4une

    dark4une Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    I figured out how to get into the bios there does not appear to be any PCMICA options.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/432091

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice