98 se or xp

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gaftop1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2003
Messages
823
have an hp 933 mhz pentium 256 mb pc 133 and a 40 gig hdd. was going to put xp pro on it but the neighborhood computer wiz said it would run slow and lock up a lot ( like the ME i'm running doesn't ha) .said i'd be better off with 98 se because my computer was old. i had pro running on a 900 mhz duron with 256 mb pc 2100 and it ran fine.wadda ya think?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
I had an 1100 cpu with 256 ram and after shutting down the unnessecary proceses i have never had a lockup. Xp does an extremely good job of managing system resources...As for my thoughts...XP all the way..
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2002
Messages
1,964
BUt you have to watch certain programs, because they will murder your comp, and its not always easy to find out whats doing it. Xp works, but it takes tweaking.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
1,358
i had a celeron,pc100,633mhz,256mb,7.5gb,win98se

i installed XP 3 months ago and i LOVE IT! i can open 10 windows and no crashes. no more freezes,no more blue screens(well once). despite all the advice one should have at least a pen3 and bigger hard drive, i am glad i added XP.

with a 7.5gb hard drive, i can barely add other programs as XP takes a lot of space. but its worth it not to put up with win98 freezes,etc.


PS rereading my post,i did not install XP PRO,just XP.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2002
Messages
1,964
BTW, to use XP you need lots of space for the near daily fixes and patches. The list after your first upgrade should be as long as your arm, or else you missed somthing.


Perhaps you should look into getting a cheap old HD, or look into buying an old computer with a cheap HD, The room on XP will really help.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
104
I'm running XP Pro on a PII350, Celeron 633 and a Celeron 1700 and it runs fine on all machines. The two older ones only have 256MB of RAM and the 1700 has 512MB. I've had XP since it was released and never had a BSOD with it.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,588
Gaftop1:

You should be fine with a 933 MHz Pentium processor, but I would add another 256 MB of RAM. Windows XP is very memory-hungry. When it's run together with other apps, you'll find that 512 MB of RAM will handle everything much better.

Windows XP has a lot of "eye candy" that can be turned off to reduce its memory needs and boost performance.

Just to make sure that you don't meet with any nasty surprises, I would run the XP readiness test here first.


Frank's Windows 95/98 Tips
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Messages
31
If you just put the XP Pro disc in and run the compatability wizard, register the conflictions, and upgrade instead of formating then everything should be OK If its not, because you upgraded you should be able to just uninstall and revert back to your original OS. We have similar spec machines (Mine is a 900 AMD Tbird) and the only problem I've found is with games, I think this will come down to a chipset problem (I'm working on it, see forum) but everything else is working better than ever, when I ran the compatability test it came back with 6 conflictions, I caried on regardles and by the time it was installed the only confliction was my scanner, and I've got a patch for that on its way to fix hat.
Be a devil and go for it........
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
1,281
I run XP Pro on a HP 333mhz Celeron with 256mb ram and also on an AMD k6 500mhz with 384 mb ram and I find it runs faster than 98se on both machines.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Messages
47
I have to agree with flavallee on this one.

XP does like to use RAM. I bought my wife a computer last year and installed XP pro on it for her (Pentium 1.2 gig processor, and 128 meg of RAM, shared video) the machine ran OK, but it was sluggish in some areas.

About 2 months ago I added another 512meg of RAM and it REALLY woke the machine up.

Good luck man.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top