1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(_~*Networking Nightmares Causing Horrific Headaches*~_)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Deepblue1k, Oct 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Deepblue1k

    Deepblue1k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    (_~*Sorry that this is in such detail, but I'm at my wits end with this problem.*~_)

    Section A First Computer
    Section B Second Computer
    Section C Router Settings and Such



    notes:

    --When I do the repair button it will work sometimes and not others. However there is no faulty cabling and it is not the router, I've used it before, many times and never once had this problem.
    I get this message:
    The following steps of the repair operation failed: Renewing the IP address. Please contact your network administrator or ISP.

    --The Router is a wired (meaning I use cables, not wireless) router. It's a
    Linksys Etherfast Cable / DSL Router, Model BEFSR41. there is a WAN port, 4 ports, and an uplink port on the back. Everything on it is set correctly and is properly auto detecting and assigning IP's.

    --Both of the computers listed below have everything being Auto Detected, I've tried to manually configure them, but I get the same result so I cleared all fields and switched them back to Auto Detect. Under the internet options>connections>Lan Settings: I have Automatically Detect settings checked, for both computers.

    --The last time I had the router set up was in my old house and it worked just fine, I never
    once had any type of problem with it. I moved it to my new house and set it
    up about 2 weeks ago and it will not connect to the internet. I can see both
    computers from each one and share files in between them just fine.

    --I've tried resyncing the modem, restarting the computers after making changes, running the network wizard, configuring settings manually, turning off auto detect in internet options connections lan settings, I've tried using proxy servers I've tried switching out the cables with different ones
    just in case it was bad cabling, I've tried restarting the modem before. I've tried the IPCONFIG /release , IPCONFIG /flushdns , IPCONFIG /renew , but it's the same as when I click the repair button, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.

    --It's probably some minor thing that I'm over looking and I'll feel really stupid
    but extremely relieved when it gets found.

    --Okay on we go!







    _______________Section A_________________

    C:\>IPCONFIG /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DEANN
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : attbi.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-2F-07-6F-E1
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.16.177.41
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 24.16.176.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 12.242.16.34
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 204.127.198.4
    63.240.76.4




    --Computer That Comcast Originally Connected
    The Internet To By Directly Plugging it into the cable modem--

    1st computer-

    System:
    Microsoft Windows XP
    Home Edition
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 1


    Compaq Presario
    AMD Athlon(tm)XP 3000+
    2.10 GHz
    448 MB of RAM

    Everything is installed on the motherboard, I did
    not install any hardware what so ever.

    The network Icon is titled as such:

    -name- Local Area Connection
    -status- Enabled
    -nic name- VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter

    --Local Area Connection--

    Double Click>General Tab

    Connection-
    Status: Connected
    Duration: Time it's been going
    Speed: 100.0 Mbps
    Signal Strength:

    Activity-
    Bytes: sending bytes
    Receiving: receiving bytes

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>Support Tab

    Internet Protocol(TCP/IP)

    Address Type: Assigned by DHCP
    IP Address: 24.16.177.101
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.248.0
    Default gateway: 24.16.177.41

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>Support Tab>Details... Button

    Physical Address: 00-11-2F-07-6F-E1
    IP Address: 24.16.177.41
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.248.0
    Default Gateway: 24.16.176.1
    DHCP Server: 12.242.16.34
    Lease Obtained: 10/16/2004 10:37:30 PM
    Lease Expires: 10/20/2004 10:37:30 PM
    DNS Servers: 204.127.198.4, 63.240.76.4
    WINS Server:

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    That is how it looks when connected directly to the internet.
    When I plug it into the router it changes to this:

    --Local Area Connection--

    Double Click>General Tab

    Connection-
    Status: Connected
    Duration: Time still displayed properly no resetting
    Speed: 100.0 Mbps

    Activity-
    Bytes: Shows what's been sent but is not sending
    Received: Shows what's been received but is not receiving

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>Support tab

    Internet Protocol(TCP/IP)

    Address Type: Assigned by DHCP
    IP Address: 24.16.177.101
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway: 24.16.177.41

    Double Click>Support Tab>Details... Button

    Physical Address: 00-11-2F-07-6F-E1
    IP Address: 24.16.177.101
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 24.16.177.41
    DHCP Server: 24.16.177.41
    Lease Obtained: 10/16/2004 11:15:42 PM
    Lease Expires: 10/16/2004 11:20:42 PM
    DNS Server: 24.16.177.41
    WINS Server:


    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
    1394 Icon

    -name- 1394 Connection
    -status- Enabled
    -nic name- 1394 Net Adapter


    --1394 Connection--

    Double Click>General Tab

    Connection-
    Status: Connected
    Duration: Time displayed
    Speed: 400.0 Mbps
    Signal Strenth:


    Activity-
    Packets Sent: 0
    Packets Received: 0

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>Support Tab

    Internet Protocol(TCP/IP)
    Address Type: <Unavailable>
    IP Address: <Unavailable>
    Subnet Mask: <Unavailable>
    Default Gateway: <Unavailable>

    ((Details... Button is disabled, so is Repair))

    Those are the only two connections that are in the Network Connections area.







    _________________Section B______________________







    --My Computer, That is trying to connect through the router when first computer is hooked up to the router and the cable modem goes
    to the WAN on the router.--

    2nd computer--

    System:
    Microsoft Windows XP
    Professional
    Version 2002
    (no service pack)

    AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2500+
    1.83 GHz
    256MB of RAM

    Again, everything is installed on the mother board, I have not installed
    any networking hardware to this computer either.
    Also another note: I had to use a Network Bridge
    before my computer would even see the router, I will list it and all associations.

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
    1394 Icon

    -name- 1394 Connection
    -status- Enabled, Bridged
    -nic name- 1394 Net Adapter


    --1394 Connection--

    Double Click>General Tab

    Connection-
    Status: Connected
    Duration: Time displayed
    Speed: 400.0 Mbps
    Signal Strenth:


    Activity-
    Packets Sent: 0
    Packets Received: 0

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>Support Tab

    Internet Protocol(TCP/IP)
    Address Type: <Unavailable>
    IP Address: <Unavailable>
    Subnet Mask: <Unavailable>
    Default Gateway: <Unavailable>

    ((Details... Button is disabled, so is Repair))

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    -Local Area Connection Icon-

    -name- Local Area Connection
    -status- Enabled, Bridged
    -nic name- Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit Ethernet NIC

    --Local Area Connection--

    Double Click>General Tab

    Connection-
    Status: Connected
    Duration: Time it's been going
    Speed: 100.0 Mbps
    Signal Strength:

    Activity-
    Bytes: sending bytes
    Receiving: receiving bytes

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>Support Tab

    Internet Protocol(TCP/IP)
    Address Type: <Unavailable>
    IP Address: <Unavailable>
    Subnet Mask: <Unavailable>
    Default Gateway: <Unavailable>

    ((Details... Button is disabled, so is Repair))

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    -Network Bridge Icon-

    -name- Network Bridge (Network Bridge)
    -status- Enabled
    -other name- MAC Bridge Miniport

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>General Tab

    Connection-
    Status: Connected
    Duration: Time it's been going
    Speed: 400.0 Mbps
    Signal Strength:

    Activity-
    Bytes: sending bytes
    Receiving: receiving bytes

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>Support Tab

    Internet Protocol(TCP/IP)

    Address Type: Assigned by DHCP
    IP Address: 24.16.177.100
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway: 24.16.177.41

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Double Click>Support Tab>Details... Button

    Physical Address: A2-13-66-7C-98-81
    IP Address: 24.16.177.100
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 24.16.177.41
    DHCP Server: 24.16.177.41
    Lease Obtained: 10/16/2004 11:57:36 PM
    Lease Expires: 10/17/2004 12:02:36 AM
    DNS Server: 24.16.177.41
    WINS Server:


    Those are the only three icons in the network connections





    __________Section C______________



    Okay, for whatever reason, I cannot get into my router.

    I open internet explorer and enter http://192.168.1.1
    but the login form doesn't show up, it just hangs then says
    "The page cannot be displayed" I checked to see if i could still see
    the computers in the shared folders area and I can, I can still view and share
    files...

    So this just adds another problem that I don't know how to fix.


    So in closing,

    PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME !!!!! AAAIIIIIEEEEEE!!!!!!!

    Thankyou,

    Matthew~


    P.S. To post this, I connect the first computer directly to the internet, I just
    plug the cable in and it works right away...


    ---Edit: I reset my router and it changed some of my lan configurations...

    The network bridge on the 2nd comp is now double click>support tab

    Ip Address: 192.168.1.100
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway: 192.168.1.1

    Same for the LOCAL AREA CONNECTION on the 1st computer when plugged into the LAN.

    -----
     
  2. doggard

    doggard

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    730
    now you have reset the router can you connect to it via the default user name and password and enter the configuration screen or do you not get the password request?
    If you have moved have you perhaps not logged the routers MAC address with the ISP correctly as they could block it otherwise especially on cable?
     
  3. coulterp

    coulterp

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,625
    Both computers would only need the Local Area Connection to get to the router. The Network Bridge is unnecessary and is probably just causing confusion (ie is probably part of the problem).

    If the Linksys router defaults to using 192.168.1.1 as its LAN IP address, what does the modem use? If they are the same you'll need to move one or other to another subnet. I would suggest moving the router - there are GUI pages to do this. You can do it while only the router is connected to the PC (ie remove the modem-router connection); restart the router and it should use the new subnet (make the router IP address something like 192.168.0.1 or 10.0.0.1 and issuing IP addresses in the 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 or 10.0.0.0/255.255.255.0 address ranges respectively). Then when you re-connect the modem you should beable to address both the modem and the router directly from the PC(s) by IP address. The PCs, if set up to acquire IP addresses automatically from the DDCHP server (router) will then take whatever IP address is issued to them.

    Changing the IP address of the router and the IP address range the router issues as DHCP server is described in the BEFSR41 user guide (befsr41_ug.pdf). See Setup Figure 8-3, page 40 and DHCP Figure 8-10, pages 47-48.

    Note also the comment from your other poster ... you may need to look at the MAC addresss and perhaps use the MAC address cloning facility on the router in order to connect to the ISP using the router. Use whatever MAC address you connected to the ISP with (when only the modem was connected to the PC, thus the MAC address of the NIC in the PC) and clone that using the facility in the router. See page 65 and figure 8-22 in the user guide.
     
  4. Deepblue1k

    Deepblue1k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    I'll try those suggestions right now and let you guys know how they turn out.

    Thankyou SO MUCH For helping me! ^_^
     
  5. Deepblue1k

    Deepblue1k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    OMG IT WORKED!!!!! YAYYYYYYYYY It was the mac address clone that did it !!!! That's the one thing I never tired!

    THANKYOU GUYS SO MUCH!!!! :D *SUPER HAPPY SUPER HAPPY*
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/285648

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice