1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"A clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor within the allocated.."

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Mike88511, Dec 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mike88511

    Mike88511 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    "A clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor within the allocated time interval"

    I sporadically receive this BSOD when playing CPU/Graphic intensive games like IV etc. and I have attempted multiple times to get a crash dump file to analyze it but apparently the minidump folder is not under the Windows directory and there is no .*dmp file. Computer works fine other then that BSOD, when that BSOD happens, before it whatever i'm playing hangs and the sound skips and I get that BSOD. Event viewer also shows no entries.

    Help would be greatly appreciated :D.
     
  2. storage_man

    storage_man

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Since you didn't supply any specs of your system and looking at the error message, I have to assume that you have a multiple processor cpu. The error message leads me to believe there is a timing issue. My first guess would be something to do with memory since this only happens in high usage environments. You may have a weak chip on one of your memory boards. I would recommend running MemCheck http://www.memtest86.com/ and see if anything fails.
     
  3. Mike88511

    Mike88511 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Specs are the little computer icon, and I ran memtest and it's fine.
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Have you changed anything in the bios lately?
     
  5. Mike88511

    Mike88511 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Not really
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Download and install hwmonitor
    and see what the temps etc are. Download the 1.17 setup, english on the righthand side.
    ....take a reading when not running Ide CPU(core) and GPU Video card and post them.

    Then run the game for 10min or so and take another reading post the results

    Take a PrintScreen of both results and copy them in Paint then save as Jpeg and Go Advanced in your post then Manage Attachments browse and double click on them then choose Upload
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970265

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice