1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

A couple of problems with a refurbished HP w/Windows XP Pro

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Entelechy, Feb 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Entelechy

Entelechy Thread Starter

Hi Tech Team.

So I got sent a refurbished HP Compaq nc6400 last week. It had Windows XP Pro already installed and also came with a backup disk. But right away, I noticed that there were some things wrong. Again, I'm not very tech savvy; but I will explain as best I can to come off like I am. :cool:;)

For one thing, some windows would pop up just off the screen(like the EQ window in VLC Media Player)and I would have to drag/maximize them. I was told on another forum that it looks as though my computer was previously set up as a dual monitor situation. But they never really gave me a remedy to fix this. I checked under monitors on the desktop and made sure that the primary monitor was *1*(and that 2 was inactive) but this problem still persists. But this is the smaller problem.

The larger problem is that sound only comes out of the right speaker. I fiddled with all of the sound options on the control panel. No change. I googled this problem and found a lot of similar complaints just like this; but no real solution. I called HP headquarters and they told me to uninstall/reinstall Soundmax. I did that. But still- nothing. Just sound from the right speaker. When I plug in my headphones, the left and right play fine. Since the complaints on google are several years old, I was wondering if there was a simple solution that I may have overlooked.

Thanks, and also if you guys know of any efficient ways to accelerate/boost bandwidth speed, please let me know.

2. Entelechy

Entelechy Thread Starter

3. DoubleHelix