A Couple of Technical DSL Question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JRSellers

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
227
A while back, I asked a DSL provider about the distance betwween my house and the nearest DSL central office, which is about 6 miles away. Here's the partial response I got:

If the form says you qualify then you should be no more than 18,000 feet from the central office in your area. However, that is 18,000 feet in actual line length, not in walking or driving distance from the CO.
Question #1: How many miles is 18,000 feet? I'm sure it's less than 6 miles.
Question #2: Why are the DSL cables so short?

Today, I ordered it anyway from my phone company, and a technician is coming later this week to install it for me.

After it's all hooked up, if it doesn't connect, I'll have to cancel the whole shebang.

I really hope it works cuz I'm getting fed up with this dialup connection on these very crappy voice-grade phone lines.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
Question #1: How many miles is 18,000 feet? I'm sure it's less than 6 miles.
THAT is your technical question?

You would solve it by knowing how many feet are in 1 mile and then divide 18,000 by that figure. Windows has a built in calculator to assist you.
Start->Programs->Accessories.

Depending on which Country you use or what definition you use, you can find the length of a mile here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mile

sekirt
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2005
Messages
255
haha, this has to be the best techy question ever asked!

18000 feet is aproximately 3.2 miles. Sorry mate,

Dsl cables dont have a fixed length persay, your provider just isnt very nice. Try to see if theres any wireless providers near you. Im on a wireless connection and the provider is 8 miles away but cos I have line of sight I get the connection and its damn good.

But take note that the form says 18000 as the crow flies, and the miles between you and the provider is probably road distance. Unless its a straight road to your provider then theres a good chance you might still be near enough
 

JRSellers

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
227
sekirt said:
THAT is your technical question?
Why ya' wanna be hatin'? :rolleyes:

You would solve it by knowing how many feet are in 1 mile
I already know it's 5280 feet, but I just need to to know if it's 5280 / 18000 (which = 0.29333333333333333333333333333333) or 18000 / 5280 (which = 5.5555555555555555555555555555556e-5).

Now, apparently I made a mistake cuz rebelmusic said the approx answer is 3.2 miles, which is a # I can understand.

Your mistake was a$$uming that I wanted a math lesson.
 

JRSellers

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
227
rebelmusic said:
But take note that the form says 18000 as the crow flies, and the miles between you and the provider is probably road distance. Unless its a straight road to your provider then theres a good chance you might still be near enough

I guess I'll find out Thursday when the technician arrives.

The lady I talked to when I ordered it said that if it doesn't work that I would not incur any charges.
 

JRSellers

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
227
I have another question that's sorta related I guess.

T1 and T3 connections, are those only available for businesses?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
Using this for a search term in Google: T1 residential got quite a few hits. One ad said as low as $459 for full T1. If you have an office at your residence, you wouldn't have any problem. Otherwise, don't know.

sekirt
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
Now, now, let's not go there. I did point out in my original post what to divide by what because you didn't seem to know. But it wasn't my intent to anger you. It just didn't seem all that technical.

sekirt
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2005
Messages
255
Okay i did in my head and was off by point 2!!!! My internal calculator is malfunctioning, i wonder if I can get a service pack for it
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
I definitely cheated. I used a calculator. No one should trust my brain for math problems.

sekirt
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
The limit for DSL is one of the physical affect of the phone cable on the signal. Beyond a certain distance, the signal level is too low to be useable.
 

JRSellers

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
227
I'd type a well-thought out reply right now, but I gotta cold, and I feel like crap.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2000
Messages
205
Just for your info....your DSL service comes over the same two wires as your phone service....also your DSL provider should be able to tell you if you qualify for DSL service without coming to your house...they can check the line at the Central office.If you qualify they will install filters on your home phones to separate the voice signals and the DSL signals.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top