A few questions before installing an old Hard Drive into a new computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

robblah

Ok I got a new computer and I want to put an old (full) hard drive, Maxtor 32049H2 20GB into it instead of burning a ton of cds to transfer files, but I've been hesistant as I've never done it before and don't want to break anything. Sorry if this is long but I'm trying to be clear,
I need the jumpers set to "SLAVE", Correct? I looked on the website www.maxtor.com and clicked on my model on the top right, and it took me to a page which was not the model of my hard drive. Assuming it's meant to do this and the jumper settings are the same for both HD's, it says -
--
(Slave)
No jumper is required to configure the drive as a Slave.
The jumper over the J44 and J42 positions is in the jumper storage position.
--
Does this mean it will work as a slave with absolutely no jumper's on it?

Next step as i understand it is to do something to the BIOS, and then something about partitioning? Do I need the info on my hard drive, cylinders etc? Not quite sure about any of that at all, so any tips or help with those last steps would be appreciated.

I hope it's easier to do than I think it is!

robblah

Oops, one more question, if I did have the jumpers set wrong, what would happen? Would I be able to just take it out and fix the problem or would it cause harder to solve problems as in not booting up even after removing the old hard drive?

If you want the files on it intact, do NOTHING apart from connect it to a spare IDE cable in the new PC after setting the jumpers accordingly.

If you partition it all data is lost.

The BIOS will detect it without your intervention if the jumpers are right.

A computer has 2 IDE ports, primary and secondary (Port 0 and Port 1)