1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

A free small OS with the factors mentioned?

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by AnonygooseD, Jul 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AnonygooseD

AnonygooseD Thread Starter

I want a a free OS that is very small and can be booted from usb/cd and has these things:

-GUI
    -file explorer
    -browser
    -least visual effects and graphics possible
    -(recommended) a media player, or the possibility to install one easily.

So if it's possible to install programs, dependencies should be resolved because I'm a WINDOWS user and I couldn't deal Ubuntu, I'm not a programmer either. The OS doesn't necessarily have to be linux, ANY OS...

So Ubuntu distros won't do, they are laggish on my pc, Damn Small Linux won't do either, I can't even boot it! I also must mentioned that my computer is extremely slow...
    I thought about asking here because there's tons of distros and builds out there so maybe something knows one with the stated factors above.

2. Ent

Ent Josiah Trusted Advisor

Have you looked at Puppy Linux?

3. AnonygooseD

well I checked puppy linux, it's still bulky and large in size, I am seeking <100MB OSes, or even better; <50MB because I need something small and fast on an old slow machine like mine, as I said above...

4. 1002richards

1002richards Trusted Advisor

Have you looked at Slitaz?
    Quote "
    SliTaz is a free operating system providing a fully featured desktop or server in less than 35 MB.
    In Live mode SliTaz can run completely in RAM and boot from removable media such as a cdrom or USB key. The system is secure, stable and easy to use"
    http://www.slitaz.org/en/

Hope it's of interest?

5. arochester

arochester