1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

A friends HJT log

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by THoey, Oct 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. THoey

    THoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,420
    I am at a friends house trying to "start" working on his PC. I ran Adaware 6, got the latest files and then cleaned it. Came up with over 100 items to clean and did it. Now, I wanted to run HJT and post a log, but I only get a small amount of info:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 8:00:08 PM, on 10/6/2003
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\RNATHCHK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot


    Am I doing something wrong? BTW, I am used to running this on Win 2K and this is Win ME, so I am not sure if that is the difference or if there is something set that is hiding all the other stuff. I KNOW this machine needs lot cleaning...

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. THoey

    THoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,420
    Sorry to be a pain, but can anyone make any suggestions as to why this log is so limited? I run it on my "clean" machine at home and I get more than this. Does ME do something different?
     
  3. BlueSpruce

    BlueSpruce

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    420
    Start , Run , Type MSCONFIG
    Click the Start-up tab , put checks in all , Reboot and Rescan w/hjt
     
  4. THoey

    THoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,420
    Blue,

    Thanks for the reply. I am not there now, so I can't do anything. But I will say that a TON of garbage has been removed from their startup. Not sure how he did it, I sent him HJT and explicit directions, but somehow MOST of his startup programs had been disabled. I went in and started those that needed starting (zone alarm, anti-virus, etc) and we are going to sit back and watch if they have any program problems.

    I'll check back if they have any problems.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170044

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice