A Monitor Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Djas00

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
147
I was wondering how I could fix this. I have a Dell Montior. Can't remember the model off hand. It works great except lately it messed up. Well the cord messed up anyway. It something with the connection from the montior to the computer. When I finally get it to work, it is green. I was wondering if I could take a wire out of a different computer or fix the one in this one.
 

Djas00

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
147
No, I got it from one of my friends. The wire on it has a part that is "unprotected" you could say.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
It's likely missing one of the colors, either in the wire or in the computer. I'd start by trying to determine if all the wires in the video cable have continuity all the way to the PCB inside the case.
 

Djas00

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
147
Well I know all that is working fine. At the part of the wire that goes into the computer there is some of the white wire cover (Don't know what else to call it, other peoples might be black) missing from that part and the copper insulation there is kinda falling off. Do you think that could be the problem?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
if the insulation is coming off the wires, there is a very good chance that there is a shorted wire there. The color red is missing if all you get is green. You could probably have it repaired but I think you would find the cost prohibitive. It may cost as much as a new monitor.
 

Djas00

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
147
Well is there any way I can replace the wire with one from another monitor?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
If you have a junked monitor, and you know how to use a soldering iron, there's no reason that you can't replace the cable. Just remember that the picture tube and HV P/S retain a healthy charge for days or even weeks, so be careful out there! :)
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
By high voltage, we are talking 20,000 volts so if you open it be real careful. The charge does not go away by unplugging it either.
 

Djas00

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 24, 2002
Messages
147
The weird thing about this monitor is that the wires unplugged but in other monitors the don't(Also I have tons of junk monitors):)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top