1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

A new processor to an A7V8X.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sportcraqzy60, Dec 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sportcraqzy60

    sportcraqzy60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Hello. I have a very slow machine(1.67 GHZ, 1gb ram and geforce 4 ti 4200). I'm thinking of upgrading my CPU. Is an AMD Sempron 140 2.70 GHZ compatible with this mobo? (ASUS A7V8X or something like that) THe currenty processor is an XP Athlon.
     
  2. 2twenty2

    2twenty2

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30,247
  3. sportcraqzy60

    sportcraqzy60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    It says this : Socket A for AMD®: Athlon XP/ Athlon/ Duron up to 2.4GHz+
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  6. sportcraqzy60

    sportcraqzy60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Which of them is the most powerful?
     
  7. oneSorcerer

    oneSorcerer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    does your board have a "FSB333" sticker on one of the chips? If so, the XP 3000+ is the best one I think.
     
  8. sportcraqzy60

    sportcraqzy60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    I don't want to go taking it off my table and openin'it up now..... Although I have a backup Pc running Debian Squeeze next to this one.. Can you see the FSB frequency from BIOS?
    EDIT:Checking if Speccy can do it
    EDIT2: Fan Speed 2657 RPM
    Bus Speed 133.3 MHz
    Rated Bus Speed 266.7 MHz
    Stock Bus Speed 133 MHz
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    No, you must open up the case and check both the revision number and the southbridge for the 333Mhz FSB sticker as is mentioned in the link I posted above.
     
  10. sportcraqzy60

    sportcraqzy60 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Where is the southbridge?
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    On the motherboard, if you click on the links above to the Asus website, there's a picture of the motherboard, the sticker should be on the spot that says VIA in the picture. And the revision number will be printed next to the motherboard model or in the bottom left hand corner.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030349

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice