1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved A Question About Newly-Purchased RAM Modules

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by flavallee, Aug 29, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,786
    First Name:
    Frank
    I recently ordered some Crucial brand 4 GB capacity DDR3-1600 1.5 volt modules so I could increase the amount of RAM in 2 of my Dell OptiPlex 9020 minitowers.
    When they arrived, I noticed they were Crucial brand 4 GB capacity DDR3L-1600 1.35 volt modules.
    I assumed they would work, so I installed them in both minitowers.
    To my surprise, both minitowers wouldn't start, and they emitted a single beep.
    When I replaced the original DDR3-1600 1.5 volt modules, they started fine.
    Am I correct in assuming they don't support DDR3L-1600 1.35 volt modules?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,160
    Not sure if this is correct however the "L" or low voltage chips were intended for laptops and or portable equipment.
    Since those chips are capable of running @1.5V, I would think it would work however [perhaps] the dell bios sees incorrect spd info from the chip and refuses to POST.
    That is just a guess on my part....
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,786
    First Name:
    Frank
    I also thought that DDR3L-1600 1.35V modules could run at 1.35V or 1.5V.
    I've never had a problem before with Crucial brand modules, so I'm stumped.
    Hopefully I can return them and get a functional replacement.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,160
    My guess is that the dell bios sees the spd info from the drive and refuses to boot; again just a guess.
     
  5. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,375
    Have a look at this......

    It may be due that those are the newer 4th gen SODIMMs and your Dell are using the old style that's not compatible. There may be a BIOS update or a chipset driver that may allow use of the newer 4th gen RAM.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,786
    First Name:
    Frank
    These are minitowers which use full-size modules and not SODIMM modules.
    The BIOS (A25 - May 2019) and Intel chipset (10.1.1.45) are both up-to-date.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,786
    First Name:
    Frank
    I received a response this morning from the company that I purchased the modules from.
    They apologized for the mistake and promised to ship me the correct modules.
    Hopefully, that will resolve the issue.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,160
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,786
    First Name:
    Frank
    I returned the 4 GB DDR3L-1600 1.35V modules to the seller.
    The seller sent me 4 GB DDR3-1600 1.5V modules.
    They installed and work fine in my Dell OptiPlex 9020 minitowers.
    Problem solved.
    :) (y)

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,375
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1232250

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice