A really noob question.....need help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fighterpilot

I've just bought a new motherboard, a dvd-rw and a SATA hard drive. Should I install the dvd-rw on the primary ide and the hard drive on the primary SATA connector or something? :confused: I'm confused, could someone please clear this up with me? :) I am a noob. What's all this about master and slave? Does it refer to the hard drive only? :confused: I heard something about jumpers as well. What are they? :(

fighterpilot said:
I've just bought a new motherboard, a dvd-rw and a SATA hard drive. Should I install the dvd-rw on the primary ide and the hard drive on the primary SATA connector or something? :confused: I'm confused, could someone please clear this up with me? :) I am a noob. What's all this about master and slave? Does it refer to the hard drive only? :confused: I heard something about jumpers as well. What are they? :(
Well there should be a chart on the drives showing you where to put the jumpers to get them in the "Master" Postion. Or if you just have one HDD and one DVD, you can leave them in the "cable select position". Yes I would plug each in to the primary slots on the motherboard. The PC should find them no matter where you plug them in though. If you ever add secondary drives, then you new drives will need to be set as "slave" with the jumpers. Hope that helps some.

fighterpilot

Methost said: