1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

a very old brillant game

Discussion in 'Games' started by modublin, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. modublin

    modublin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    i found a game on cd that was designed for win 3.1 and win 95.
    it is seven years war by unimex (warhammer is also on the cd) the game worked fine on win 95 and 98 using a p 75 (pentium 1). but not a p3 266 or p4 or p4 dual

    the game will load on xp and vista but the speed of the game is now so fast the game is impossible to play. there is nothing in options to slow the game to a playable speed.
    direct x version 5 comes with the game. any ideas as it really is a great game.

    i have run it on compatabality for 95 and 98 game plays but slill too fast.
     
  2. Cardboard Box

    Cardboard Box

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Hi

    Try going to control panel and looking for hardware acceleration (sorry, I forgot where in control panel it is) and tuning the slider for hardware acceration a bit down.
     
  3. krak_killz

    krak_killz

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Wrong thread buddy..April Fools
     
  4. modublin

    modublin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    is it under display properties in the control panel. thanks for your help.
     
  5. Samoanstylez

    Samoanstylez

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    i am very interested in this game you talk about seven years war can you tell me about it?
     
  6. Thoughtzilla

    Thoughtzilla

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    There is also an emulator available called DOSBox and it lets you load old DOS games on your PC without them running at the speed of light.
     
  7. Cardboard Box

    Cardboard Box

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Hi

    Hey Modublin, does that mean your game now works?
     
  8. modublin

    modublin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Sorry i did not get back sooner was on hols

    Have tried reducing hardware acceleration step 1 and 2 no change step 3 would not allow acess to game (probably needs direct x) also tried changing screen res and so on.


    there is an ms-dos batch file of 49 bites
    the exe file is 427 kb
    the overall game is 11.8 meg

    will try a dos emulator. if i setup dos 7.1 will that effect the start up of my dual boot of xp and vista.
     
  9. KablooieXL

    KablooieXL

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    I agree with Thoughtzilla. If it's a DOS game, download a little bitty program called DOSbox. It's totally free, works PERFECTLY, tho make sure you read the instructions on how to use it.
     
  10. modublin

    modublin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    dos box says it cannot be run from dos . this is not an ms dos program.
    will i post the .exe or the dos file ?
     
  11. modublin

    modublin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/698711

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice