ABIT Siluro MX400 problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

harrack52

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5
I have a ABIT Siluro mx400 graphic card on a Pcchips M810LR mainboard. The problem is there's an annoying "trail" following the mouse pointer and I can see horizontal lines moving on the screen at the top and bottom of the screen whenever I'm in windows(Win 98). There are no lines when I'm in DOS or booting. I have have installed the latest BIOS and drivers for the graphic card, what can I do to solve this problem ?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
It is more than likely to do with the refresh rate in your settings and may also be a limitation of your current monitor. Go into the display settings and try bumping up the display adapters refresh rate a notch and see if it gets better or worse. What monitor are you using make, model and size wise.
 

harrack52

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5
I'm using a LG Studioworks 775N 17 inches.
The resolution I'm currently using is 1280 x 1024 and the refresh rate is 60 hz.
The problem is still there even at 640 x 480.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Did you try adjusting the refresh rates and not just the desktop size?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
If it is only at the top and bottom it could very well just be the adjustments on the monitor. Sounds like a geometry or linearity setting that needs adjustment.
 

harrack52

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5
I doubt that this is the problem because if it was I don't think the lines would be moving up and down continuously.
On ABIT's website there's a faq that points out that problem which occurs according to them when you combine that ABIT Siluro MX400 with K7T, etc. mainboards. They say you can correct this by going into the BIOS under the advanced chipset features and change the settings of the agp driving control. the problem is my BIOS doesn't have the advanced chipset features, I have an AMIBIOS which does not permit me to "play" with many settings. And nowhere in my BIOS can I find something that relates to agp driving control.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top