1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Able to send packets, but not receive packets through router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Gastoff, Apr 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gastoff

    Gastoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    At random times, my internet will "drop" connection and will not download any packets, but I am still able to send packets. My Local Area Connection icon continues to say I am connected, my modem is fully functional, and my cables are good. I can get my internet back up and running for 10 minutes or so by disable and re-enabling my Network Connection. If I simply try the "repair", it gives me an error at the "Refreshing IP" step.

    I have done a full system scan for viruses and I am clean. My drivers are fully updated, I have disabled my firewalls, and still no help. During the times when it is down, I can successfully ping my modem through CMD, but I get the time-out error if I ping a site, my default gateway, the DHCP Server, or the DMS Servers.

    I have made no changes to any major settings on my computer, nor has there been any recent additions/removals of any software.

    Does anyone know what is causing this or how I can fix it?
     
  2. Gastoff

    Gastoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X3 720 Processor, x86 Family 16 Model 4 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 3
    RAM: 3326 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 152617 MB, Free - 44523 MB; E: Total - 476821 MB, Free - 291760 MB;
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., GA-MA770T-UD3P
    Antivirus: None
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,506
    Please show the following for a good connection and for the problem condition ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.


    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. Gastoff

    Gastoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    What it shows when my internet is working (like now):

    C:\Documents and Settings\Jake>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : speedy
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : voip.conwaycorp.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : voip.conwaycorp.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit E
    thernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 6C-F0-49-0C-7B-57
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.144.24.34
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 24.144.24.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.144.0.31
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.144.0.146
    204.9.123.122
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 23, 2012 12:52:03 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 3:52:03 AM

    What it shows when it is not working right
    (dropped just a second ago and I had to re-enable my Local Area Connection to get it up again):

    C:\Documents and Settings\Jake>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : speedy
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : voip.conwaycorp.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : voip.conwaycorp.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit E
    thernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 6C-F0-49-0C-7B-57
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.144.24.34
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 24.144.24.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.144.0.31
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.144.0.146
    204.9.123.122
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 23, 2012 12:52:03 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, April 24, 2012 3:52:03 AM
     
  5. Gastoff

    Gastoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I have already contacted my ISP and they said that nothing is wrong on their end since the signal is arriving uninterrupted to my router. The router is also fine and restarting it manually has not fixed this problem either.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,506
    There is no evidence of any router there. In both cases you have a public IP configuration, as if connected directly to a modem. The modem is connected to a router LAN port instead of the WAN port, the router is in some kind of bypass or AP mode, or the router is defective. If the latter, that could also explain the service interruptions.
     
  7. Gastoff

    Gastoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I dont have a router, I am directly connected to the modem. In my last past, I meant to say modem instead of router.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,506
    Make sure you have the latest ethernet driver from your PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's site. If you already have the latest reinstall it in case the installed instance is corrupted.

    What firewall or security suite do you have?

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050500