About to install Vista? Try this first!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Compiler

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
If you really MUST install Vista before its first Service Pak (THink of it as Windows OS 6.0 and you need to wait for 6.1) in about a year.... consider these things.

1 - Wait perhaps another month - perhaps some of these driver issues are worked out. Those with GF 6, 7 and 8 cards are having problems.... same with ATI. Just those with onboard video seem to go through little pain... oh wow.

2 - Dig up an old 20GB HD thats not doing anything - drop that in, unplug your DRIVE (Data & power) - and install on a TEST Hard drive. Don't activate/register vista ASAP - you need to make sure it all works... Unlike XP which sucks up about 2GB installed, vista will eat about 11gb!!! So a 15GB will barely cut it, a 20GB or larger is recommened.

Reverting back to XP will most likely require a complete clean reinstall of XP and coping back your files.


3 - Consider adding MODS to XP for that vista look: http://www.tech-recipes.com/rx/1089/make_xp_look_like_vista_longhorn_free

:eek:
 

Compiler

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
The advisor is not always accurate... And during the install process, like before it starts - it should also confirm issues.

A lot of silly issues with vista could have been fixed months ago - as such complaints were talked about in articles before RTM... such as the UAC issues.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Or install it on another computer

Or have a partition just for the OS. Then you can image the previous OS like XP, install Vista, and create an image for that. Typically restores take only a few minutes to switch.

Not sure I would want to install Vista on a 20 gig drive. For starters a little small. And most of those old drives were slow 5400 rpm ones. If you do decide to do that, at least make sure it spins at 7200.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Not sure what others have. My Windows directory shows something just over 7 gigs. Can't check from a clean install at this point how much is in the Program Files directory to see what it puts there from the beginning.
 

uhaligani

Guest
Joined
Apr 6, 2006
Messages
1,056
Mine "sucks up" about 7gigs. With ALL my software installwed (about 30 programs. it goes up to 12 gigs. So I think 20 gigs would be a comfortable limit for hard disk space for vista. I use a medium grade ATI card (9600 pro 256) which runs Vista without any discernable problems, I am running Aero, for what it is worth. You can install Vista on a separate partition, and still run it as your primary or secondary dsktop. It would not require a reinstall of XP in those circumstances. I am running Vista (retail-Ultimate) as my primary OS. I am having no driver problems. All my previous XP software, with the help, in 4 cases, of the compatiblity wizard, are running without issue.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2003
Messages
1,936
For the record, Vista requires 40GB of disk space to install, although Ultimate doesn't consume more than 15.

Courtney sends....

P.S. I am running Vista now, and, as heavy as I am with computers, I haven't had a problem with crashes on Vista yet.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
Not even close, or I guess my 30 gig partition for the Root is an aboration.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
448
I was teetering precipitously close to the edge of the Vista abyss so I headed off in the direction of the nearest liquor store and purchased a temporary deferral against the madness I was contemplating.

After washing down some vicodin with some jagermeister, I no longer felt the urge to do harm to a perfectly good PC
 

uhaligani

Guest
Joined
Apr 6, 2006
Messages
1,056
Courtneyc said:
For the record, Vista requires 40GB of disk space to install, although Ultimate doesn't consume more than 15.
As I said, my clean install of Ultimate takes about 7gbs. I believe Microsoft recommend 40 Gbs of HD space to successfully run the program, not to install it. I have , like Jimwills, run earlier Beta's on considerably less than that, without any obvious problems.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
I think the concern regarding how much space Vista uses is from the first post - "vista will eat about 11gb!!!"
 

Compiler

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
When I said 20GB ID - that is for TESTING... a TESTING HD to see what problems may pop up.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
446
Courtneyc said:
For the record, Vista requires 40GB of disk space to install, although Ultimate doesn't consume more than 15.

Courtney sends....

P.S. I am running Vista now, and, as heavy as I am with computers, I haven't had a problem with crashes on Vista yet.
40 GB is the requirement for a computer to be labled Vista Premium Ready. I have successfully installed Vista many times on a 20 GB hard drive. 20 GB is enough for a clean install but not an upgrade.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top