1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access 2003: Doing a calculation within a form

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by classixuk, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. classixuk

classixuk Thread Starter

Quick Summary of the Problem

Hi Everyone,

I've been tearing my hair out tonight. I'm new to Access and have been reading books for 2 days solid.

I have created a simple database but have run into a problem.

I have 2 combo boxes at the top of my form for the user to select 2 fields. From these 2 fields I need Access to calculate "SelectionA" minus "SelectionB" to give me a new hidden value that I can use "HiddenNumber3".

I can get this to work in queries without a problem, but how do I get this to work in a form?

A bit more indepth info for those who are interested.
    My Access application is to allow a user to select what hair-colour they currently have and then a new colour from a list of hair colour names. The results tell the user what product to put on their hair, mixed with which peroxide and for how long in order to acheive the result.
    It all begins with the difference between the 2 shades. In my table of natural hair colours I have provided a field that gives each shade of natural hair colour a number.
    I have done the same with the artificial hair colour table.
    Via a query I can calculate the difference between the 2 shades fields without a problem. In the form, I am stuck. Not only am I stuck, but I don't know how to store the result to be used throughout the rest of the calculations.