1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access 2003 help

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by jenaid, Jun 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jenaid

    jenaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    I am trying to finish my access database and have got stuck - hope someone can help, I've spent hours searching the web and can't quite sort it.
    We do commission dyeings of yarn. I want to record orders from customers, then record the details of the actual dyeings when they are done, and finally produce advice note and invoice when yarn is despatched. The orders can have more than one item on them but only one 'line' of the order will be dyed at once. A despatched order could be made up of different 'lines' from numerous orders.
    I have a form/subform to enter order / order line details. I then created a select query for these details. Based on this query I created another form with a parameter to enter order no and a subform where the dye record details are entered.
    I then created another query to just show records which have a dye number against them, and added extra fields to enter weight to be despatched and a carton number (called advice note query).
    I have also created a report linked to this query to serve as an advice note.
    What I need is a way of printing the advice note from the query, and perhaps saving this either within access or exporting to excel, and then for this information to be 'removed' from the query so that next time I open it I just get the records that have been dyed but not despatched yet.
    I also want to print an invoice at the same time as the advice note, which will be virtually same report headed up invoice instead, but for it also to have a consecutively running number.
    Really hope someone can help.
    Thank you
     
  2. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Well re the "then for this information to be 'removed' from the query" you need a tick box that will be ticked when teh line is printed. The query will be set to ignore any ticked items.
    I am not sure why you want to "save" the output, but saving as a "Snapshot" is one way to do so.
    The Invoice and numbering should not be a problem.
     
  3. jenaid

    jenaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thank you for your quick reply. I have added a yes/no field to the table called Print, and tickbox to the query. Do I need to write specific code for access to tick the box or do I do this manually? I don't know much about code i'm afraid.
    Thanks
     
  4. jenaid

    jenaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    I just wanted to save the output in case I needed to reprint anytime without having to go through the process again
     
  5. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    How do you currently identify the ones to be printed?
    I would use an Update query that sets the new tick boxes to ticked when you run the reports.
     
  6. jenaid

    jenaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    I haven't had the whole thing up and running yet but I just put a 'is not null' parameter into the carton no field of the query. This was just so I could view what advice note looked like printed out. Obviously no good for printing more than one advise note. I will have a play with update queries thank you - will probably be back at some point though!
     
  7. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Let me know if you need any further assistance, especially with the Invoice numbering.
     
  8. jenaid

    jenaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Sorry if this sounds stupid but can I print a report from the query view - or will I have to create a form and a command button for printing?
     
  9. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    I would always create a Form with a Comand button for printing, you can have the input on the form instead of in the query using this format in the query Criteria.
    Forms![formname]![fieldname]
    where formname is the name of the form and fieldname is the name of the field on the form.
     
  10. jenaid

    jenaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Think I've got myself in a right tangle - as you can tell I'm very new to all this. When I had the query all the info was there and all I had to do was add the weight and carton no. When I've created the form all the info is gone and I need to re-enter, which is not what I wanted to do.
     
  11. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    The form opens the Report which opens the Query, which has all the data. The form should now supply the Weight & Carton No to the query and filter the records that will be in the report..
     
  12. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    I have to go now, I will talk to you tomorrow.
    I can supply examples of how the form/query work if you need it.
     
  13. jenaid

    jenaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Examples would be good. Thank you for your time and help tonight
     
  14. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    Re-reading your first post it is possible that I have misunderstood what you do with the query.
    Do you add the weight and Carton Number details to each record in the query?
    If so, is the entry for each record different or are they all the same values?
    Could you show a screen print of the query?
     
  15. jenaid

    jenaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Yes I add weight and carton no. on query - and yes they are all different. I then save these details in a table
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1004150