1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access 2007 error..

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Daisie, Apr 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Daisie

    Daisie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    When trying to select a choice from a drop-down in a new form; the info line shows this..
    "Cannot add record(s); primary key for table 'dbo_Asset_Type' not in recordset.".. almost like it is expecting the record to already be there?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,867
    moved to business applications forum
     
  3. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    What is the Control Source of the Drop Down list.
     
  4. Daisie

    Daisie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Asset_Type_dbo_Asset_Type is the control source and SELECT dbo_Asset_Type.Asset_Type FROM dbo_Asset_Type; is the row source
     
  5. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    It is a bit difficult from that description to tell if the drop down row source is coming from a different table to the Control source.
     
  6. Daisie

    Daisie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Ok, tell me how to get you a copy of the property sheet.. I have a copy of it in Excel.
     
  7. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    That will do, you can post it on here as an attachment using the "Go Advanced" and Manage Attachment buttons.
    A copy of the table relationships would be helpful as well.
     
  8. Daisie

    Daisie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    At this point I don't have any relationships.. could that be the problem? :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    It shouldn't be the relationships, can you save the Excel sheet in Excel 2003 and re-post it please?
     
  10. Daisie

    Daisie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Here you go.
     
  11. Daisie

    Daisie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Had to zip it.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    What field type is the Asset_Type_dbo_Asset_Type in it's table?
    What field type is the Asset_Type in the dbo_Asset_Type table?
     
  13. Daisie

    Daisie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Asset_Type is an integer that feeds to the Asset_Inventory table (feeding the ID) and Asset_Type has the ID (int) and Type (nchar) columns.
     
  14. Daisie

    Daisie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    At least that's what I want it to do.. I want the drop-down to show the type but feed the id to the other table.
     
  15. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    That is what should happen, but only the ID should be stored. The first column in the Drop down should be the ID and set to 0cm width to hide it and should be the Bound column. The second column should then display the Asset_Type.
    If this was Access 2003 I could take a look for you, but I can't work with Access 2007/10.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050622