1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access 2010 data collection feature

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by qsaeed, May 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. qsaeed

    qsaeed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi everyone,

    I am trying to put together a prototype for demonstrating the Access 2010 data collection feature integrated with Outlook. So I created a simple table with an email address field in it, then used the "Create Email" feature under data collection in Access, went through the wizard and all works fine, I get the email with the data entry form, I do a reply and the data in Access get updated just fine. Now to the part that is now working, I have an data macro "On Update" which is simple and will send back a conformation email, when I fire this macro by updating the table data (row) manually the macro works and sends the email, but when the data gets updated from the reply email explained above the macro does nor work, I checked the log file and found an error "The 'SendEmail' action failed because the current database is not trusted.". I Googled this error and followed the suggested solution by creating a folder, add it to trusted locations, move my DB to that folder, I still get the same error.

    Please help

    Thanks
     
  2. BPCS

    BPCS

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    You might try making sure the trusted location allows network trusted and allows subfolders trusted, hopefully that will solve your problem.
     
  3. qsaeed

    qsaeed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the response. I already tried that but no luck. I have a feeling that this "Trusted Location" error is not the actual error as often is the case with some MS errors. I also tried to move the Trusted location under "My Documents" as suggested by another forum, no luck there either, seems like something simple but yet driving me nuts ... :(
     
  4. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    18,834
    What currently starts the macro?
    The fact that it works when you manually run it suggests it is as you say not the correct error to tell you what is going on.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1054970