Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Access Database Idea

9K views 60 replies 7 participants last post by  cristobal03 
#1 ·
A Grocery Database that allows you to compare prices for various grocers in youe area including the impact of 1. Coupons and 2 coupon doubling and tripling. Last would be historical data of pricing. From this you couls create a shopping listfor each store each week and predict when prices will be at their lowest and coupons have the reatest impact.
I'm a newbie to Access and had a VB class over 16 yrs ago. I've done a lot of input to the main table just trying to get an idea of how to manage it with queries & reports. Any ideas? I know it's a lot so i'll understand if it's 2 much.

#2 ·
I think it's an interesting application. It's a bit much for a beginner, but since there are no time constraints, I say go for it. After all, the best way to learn is to keep plugging at a design that interests you.

If you're just starting out, I recommend learning some good database design principles. Start with database normalization and normal forms (Google those to learn more). You might also look into identifying and defining business rules prior to creating your tables.

I'd say jump in, and post back if you have specific questions about your design or how to use Access.

Good luck,

chris.

#3 ·
Thanks Cris! I know I'm in way over my head but my advantage is luxury of time. I want to share the end result with as many cheapskates as possible so we can beat the grocers.
Ok, here is my 1st specific question: Once I have all my items listed as a record in a table as well as in a separate table for varieties of.. apples, for example. Can I somehow Generate a list of the things I wish to purchase for the week, apply coupon rules to say if less than or equal 2 39 cents double and f between 40 and 50 cents double otherwise straight discount. I see no if/then capability. Thanks for looking at my thread.

#4 ·