1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access Database locking up.

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by gkimble, Jan 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gkimble

    gkimble Account Disabled Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    307
    When I go to generate a report in an Access database that consists of about 10 plain text pages, the program crashes. Task manager says not responding. ONLY Access is open, nothing else. And this is a 1.3 Ghz with 256 megs ! Any pointers ? Thanks !!
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Is the database on a local hard drive or a server? Sounds more like a local resource kind of problem. Is the report set to print directly after running?
     
  3. gkimble

    gkimble Account Disabled Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    307
    It's on a network drive, even though people can make changes at the same time, I think it's having a problem generating a report when everyone is looking at the database at the same time. I will go find out.
     
  4. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    What's the report like? Have you tried recreating it? I know it's no fun if it's fancy-schmancy, but often you can just copy and paste from one report into another.

    Does the same thing occur if you just PREVIEW the report?
     
  5. gkimble

    gkimble Account Disabled Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    307
    Well, Anne, it works now. Sometimes I just have to reboot. One of those things you just have to live with. The way the database is set up, there is no way to preview a report. I type in the dates from the start say September 2002 untill January 2003 and it takes about 20 seconds to come up with 30 pages.
     
  6. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Ok, G. If it continues to occur, try this:

    Create new, blank DB.
    File-Get External Data
    Pull all objects from your DB into this new one.
    See if the report causes errors in this one.

    Very often it's the container that makes Office files go corrupt (i.e., fix Excel by copy sheets to a new workbook or fix doc by copy text to a new doc).
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111709

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice