1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access database problem

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by pl2959, Dec 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pl2959

    pl2959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    I tried to open a database but I can't open it. I got an error message "unreconized database format". Is it corrupted? Please help me to fix and how can I open this database. thanks.
     
  2. Sequal7

    Sequal7

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,382
    It may be incompatible with your version or corrupted.
    Do you know what version is the database created in and what version you are using?

    You may also need to open exclusively. Start access (not by double clicking a database but by going through programs folder)
    Click the open icon and browse to the files location
    Select the file using a single click
    Then to open the database with *exclusive access, click the arrow next to the Open button, and then click Open Exclusive.
    (*exclusive: A type of access to data in a database that is shared over a network. When you open a database in exclusive mode, you prevent others from opening the database.)

    [​IMG]
     
  3. pl2959

    pl2959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    I did not see any "open exclusive" or "open exclusive read-only" from the lists. I only have "open" and "open as copy". :(

    Any other suggestion? thanks.
     
  4. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,671
    You could try opening Access and then using the Tools>Compact & Repair on the database.
    Or open a blank database and try "Importing" from the other database.
     
  5. pl2959

    pl2959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    I tried both but still have the problem. Too bad, I do not have any back up for that database. :(
     
  6. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,671
    Did you create the database?
    Have you been able to open it in the past?
    You can get this error message if the database was created in an Access version later than the one that is trying to open it.
     
  7. pl2959

    pl2959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    I did not create this database. My colleague created and zipped it. After he zipped it, the database had error message when we open it. I also can't open the zip file too. I tried to open the database by Access version 2000 and 2003.
     
  8. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,671
    Has he got an original copy of the database?
    Can you post the Zipped file on here?
    Do you know what version of Access your friend used?
     
  9. Sequal7

    Sequal7

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,382
    Sounds like a corrupted zip file, or an unsuccessful download of the zipped file.

    Did you download it, or copy it to your computer from a disk?
    If you downloaded it, re-download a copy.
     
  10. pl2959

    pl2959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    It is only one copy of that database. After zipped it, the original file had problem to open. Both zipped file and the orginal file had the same "unrecognized database format" error when I open it. :(

    Thanks.
     
  11. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,671
    Have you still got the original data for this database, what did it do?
     
  12. pl2959

    pl2959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    The original database was corrupted, can't open now. It's good to open befor zip it. Any suggestion? thanks.
     
  13. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,671
    I would build you a new one if you had any data to put in it.

    What did the database do?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/526625

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice