1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access database problem

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by DKTaber, Oct 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DKTaber

    DKTaber Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,871
    I have a really confounding problem. Situation: Small non-profit organization with 7 workstations, mostly Dell Pentium 4s. Office network uses a Buffalo server and router. I don't know for sure, but assume the network is a simple 10Base-T. The organization runs on the MS Access databases I've designed, one of which is a reservation system. The major tables for that system are the Signups table, where the information for each reservation is collected and the EventSched, which simply contains data for all the events for the year, with event type, date, departure and return time, location, program type, etc. The tables contain a lot of links to auxiliary tables, per the attachment. The database is a client/server design: Forms on the workstations, tables on the Buffalo.

    Each year, I go in and set up the reservation tables for the next year, in this case 2010. I did that yesterday. I first copied the database containing the 2009 tables to a file with the name "10 PublicSailTbls.mdb". After deleting all the records in the Signups, EventSched, Manifest, and HowPaid tables to make them ready for next year's entries, on the workstation on which I was doing this, I also copied the 2009 Forms (client) side of the split database, changed the name to "2010 PublicSailForms.mdb" and changed the links to the 2010 tables file on the Buffalo. This is the same process I have used for the last 9 years.

    Problem is, the 2010 Signups form will open on only two of the workstations. On the others, the system goes into "indefinite busy" (hourglass). Task Manager indicates Access and everything else is "not responding", but attempts to "end task" fail. Only way to restore the system is to select "Restart". Because it worked on two workstations, we thought perhaps the network was not working properly, so "regenned" it (shut all computers down, shut the Buffalo and router down, waited one minute, then brought the network back up). Didn't change anything; system still works on two of the workstations, but not on the others.

    Anybody have a clue as to what's going on/where I should look for the cause of this odd problem?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Don, long time no speak, how are you?
    Does the Old database still open on all the workstations?
    I think along the same lines as you that it is network/workstation setting rather than a database problem.
    Have you checked the usual Folder permissions etc?

    Is it a financial thing not building in "futureproofing"?
     
  3. DKTaber

    DKTaber Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,871
    So how are things in the UK?

    Yes, the old database Signups form does open. If forgot to say that other forms DO open; only the Signups form, which is quite complex, doesn't open on all workstations. I keep wondering if I screwed up a join between two tables (had to delete two links to delete records, then reestablish the joins). But if that's the case, why does it work on two workstations, but not the others?
     
  4. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Don, things in the UK are OK I suppose, still plenty of doom & gloom about.
    Have you compared the 2 back ends of the databases.
    It does sound a very odd problem, only 1 form on all but 2 workstations, they do all have the same version of the front end?
     
  5. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    I must admit looking at the relationships I don't like the one sided joins for tables and forms. they are OK in Queries for "Viewing" data but can really mess up data entry and yet they work on 2 work stations, talk about weird.
     
  6. DKTaber

    DKTaber Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,871
    Yes, front end was actually copied from my jump drive to all the workstations, so it is identical on all.

    From the comment in your last post ("I must admit looking at the relationships I don't like the one sided joins for tables and forms. they are OK in Queries for 'Viewing' data but can really mess up data entry and yet they work on 2 work stations, talk about weird."), those are the joins I've had for years, and it all works perfectly. But you're correct that some are for convenience when creating queries or reports, rather than for referential integrity, etc.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/870403

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice