1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

access database

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by dragonlight, Oct 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dragonlight

    dragonlight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    347
    I have created a tracking program using access, the main tracking page contains name, address, phone numbers, computer information etc. I also have two fields that I insert the problem, and then the fix, then that is printed out to give to the customer. whenever the customer brings their computer back in for service, I do a search for their account, and it brings up all the pre existing info. There last problem and cure are still in there... I would like to find some way if it's possible to make this dump the items to a database for each customer in case I want to go into it again and look at past events. Then the next time I open their account, the problem and cure fields are empty, but their data past problem and cure will still be in there.....
    I almost have this program or database to where it will do everything that I want it to do.

    Any help would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks
    chad
     

    Attached Files:

  2. THoey

    THoey

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,420
    I am going to guess that you have all this data in one table. And if that is true I am going to say that this is your first problem. Your structure should be something like:

    tblCustomer
    CustID
    LName
    FName
    Address1
    Address2
    City
    State
    Zip
    Phone
    Fax

    tblProblems
    CustID
    ProblemID
    Description
    Solution

    With this format, you could have a main form that is your customer info and then a sub-form for viewing or adding a new problem/solution.

    I haven't worked with sub-forms enough to be able walk you through this, but I am sure someone will be able to. Please let them know a little more about your data base, Access version, table layout, etc.

    Hope that is a start...
     
  3. lora_3677

    lora_3677

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,228
    thoey is right... a subform would be the way to go... that way if they bring it back a zillion times you can save it all... otherwise you could just set it up to append new info to a memo field.. but that could get scary really fast... it would be cleaner with a subform... which is a seperate table as thoey described.
     
  4. dragonlight

    dragonlight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    347
    My making a subform will that let me come back to that customer and it be a clean slate in the problem and repair fields... but yet keep something like an archive to keep track of past events.
     
  5. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    No, it won't come up as a clean slate, but you could use the same form to enter new information. Have the initial lookup find the customer information and have a button on the same form create a blank subform to enter new case information. You coud alos create a new form just for entering new client history based on the client ID. I think you should have a seperate table for that sort of information since one customer may have multiple instances where they have problems.
     
  6. dragonlight

    dragonlight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    347
    Ok, I have the sub form in place and the database is working the way I want it to. I have the normal form with the customer information and I have the subform that keeps track and is linked to the form. Now the fun part is ; I need to find a way, I am sure that there is someone out there that knows this :) I need to be able to create a querie that will pull up that customer and also pull up their current subform and print it in a 1 page report so that the client can take it which them. So far all your suggestions are helping me. Thank you so far.
    Chad
     
  7. dragonlight

    dragonlight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    347
    I have everything in the data base and all the searches. I just need to find some information on how to combine my form and subform fields in one report. This way it prints out the customers information, and then prints out the work order (what i did to fix the computer) on one sheet of paper...
     
  8. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,550
    Use a Join Query with the 2 fields that link each other in the subform, then base the report on this query.

    This is done with both tables added to the design grid and dragging a join line between the 2 fields. Make sure there is only one line as access may automatically put one in for the ID fields depending on your design.

    Right click on the join line to set the property for the desired result
     
  9. dragonlight

    dragonlight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    347
    Thanks Guys everything is working great.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/174340

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice