1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access denied making new folder

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by TWINKIT, Sep 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TWINKIT

TWINKIT Thread Starter

Hi, I'm having a problem making a new folder inside my c:\program files\accessories folder as the OS tells me access is denied. I am the Administrator and am logged on as such. I can make a new folder if in Safe Mode, Whats the Problem here?, as an Administrator I should be able to do this and I can with any other folder I've tried on other than c:\program files\accessories?. I've tried looking at the properties for this folder and I admit I'm some what confused by it but I haven't change anything there

2. davehc

davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    David
    Who created the program files\accessories? As far as I am aware, it is not a Vista default folder??
    Or do you mean the accessories folder in the Start menu?
    To add another folder to that, right click it and "explore"

3. TWINKIT

TWINKIT Thread Starter

I'm sure I did but if I'm wrong it could only have been Orbit Downloader as I was told there is an update for this program and when I tried to download it that is when I descovered that new folders could not be added to the c:\program files\accessories folder because the update tried to create c:\program files\accessories \"Cache" but said folder could not be created. To sum up I'm sure I created it though as my computers Adminstrator

4. TWINKIT

TWINKIT Thread Starter