1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access Denied

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Tallokas, Dec 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tallokas

Tallokas Thread Starter

I am brand new to Windows 7 - just got it today. My son set up my account and as far as I know this is how he did it: typed in my name but used no password.

Everything seems to be ok and so far I really think I'll like Windows 7 but have one question. When I try to download a program, it says access is denied. I don't know if I'm the Admin or I'm not the Admin - or some setting I need to change? Could someone please point me in the right direction to correct this?

I really don't know a lot about computers and am hoping this is a simple fix. Thanks for your help and Merry Christmas to all:eek:

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

Where are you choosing for a download location?

3. Android_FX

Android_FX

It seems that you can download the program, but after the download you can't execute it?
    If your son setup your account, let him login with his account and give your account the administrative rights, or ask password of his account and log in with that to your computer, and then try to execute the program you downloaded.

4. Tallokas

Tallokas Thread Starter

I was trying to download yesterday's Giveaway of the Day and was going to put it in Program Files as usual. There are Program Files and Program Files x86 (don't get that at all) I can download the program(to Program Files 86) but when I click to install I get the access denied message. (My son doesn't have an account on this computer, he just came over to set everything up for me)