Access denied

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

beerncheese

I was curious if someone could please help me. I have a problem accessing a few unsecure web sites. It's probably not a good idea to post their URL's here.LOL. Accessing other websites is not a problem. My wifes computer can access them using same ISP, same password, same everything basically. I've tried everything, deleting Active X controls, deleting temp internet files, disabling my popup stopper. When i try to get on the websites, it gives me the page cannot be displayed. I'm not an expert at this by any means, but i think i have been banned. My data processing teacher told me that there is a number "burnt" into your modem that they can deny acces to their website. I can't understand why i would be banned, i'm not a hacker. I thought of buying a new 56k modem and being done with it as a last resort. Is there anything i can do?

Often this occurs because you do not have cookies enabled. Try looking in your Browser > Tools > Internet Options > Privacy and see how you handle cookies.

Also, if you are using a firewall, it could be in your firewall's privacy settings. I don't know anything about the modem situation; sounds like an urban legend to me!

beerncheese

I have tried both of these options and it still doesn't let me in. I went to the Microsoft website telling me how to disable the firewall and set my computer to accept all cookies. I appreciate your help, though.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!