Access help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Charles_Bukowski

Thread Starter
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
169
Hello everyone.

I have an access problem. I am trying to create a query that will show me a field only when there is a quantity in that field. I know this is probably very simple to do but I don't know Access at all. :confused:
 

Charles_Bukowski

Thread Starter
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
169
That works but here is the problem. This something that we are going to send to a jobsite. The data that I have has dozens of customer part numbers for. What I am trying to do is show the customer part number with the building floor number when there is a quantity entered. For example:

If a customer orders from us 500 of their part number "Gasket A" but its spread out among 15 floors of a building than I want the display the cusomer part number with a bulleted style list underneath it with all of the floors it was used on.

Does this make any sense?
 

Keebellah

Hans
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
6,643
Well you could try an extra table or query where the floor data is stored and using a join or simmilar.

I would have to look a how that data is stored.
 

Charles_Bukowski

Thread Starter
Joined
May 3, 2007
Messages
169
I am attaching an example of what I am working with.

What I need is for the "Mark" or "Tag" number (which is really the customer part number) to show the total number of frames per floor.
 

Attachments

Keebellah

Hans
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
6,643
Hi Charles,

I get the idea, I tried to download the zip file but I cannot open it, it returns a bad header error.
Can you mail it als another type of attachment?
Let me know.
 

jimr381

Jim
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
4,193
Run a report and group by pathnumber and then jobsite. If you have the floor numbers in the dataset then you sort by those to put them in numerical order and have a total at the bottom of the group.

If you want to summarize by floor then add that in as a tertiary group.
 

OBP

Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
19,896
Charles, I have some questions about your database.
First and most important, you have no Relationships set between the various tables.
How is the data related particularly the 2 Frame and Floor tables?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top