1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Access: novice needs help

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Vicente07, Feb 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Vicente07

Vicente07 Thread Starter

First off, I am a novice and trying to teach myself Access as I go along. I have picked up a few things here and there, but at a stand still right now. So I'll start by explaining what I am trying to achieve.

I'm trying to create a database to clock volunteer hours and then in turn tell me later in the year how many hours per year, per month, per volunteer, etc. Seems simple enough to me, but I hit a speed bump. Here's what I've done for now:

• Created two tables. First table is for the Volunteers (ID, FirstName, LastName). Second table is for the Hours (ID, Volunteer, Hours, Date, TaskDescription).
    • Created a relationship. This is the first confusing part and not sure I am doing this correct. I linked the ID from the Volunteers table to the volunteer in the Hours table. Is this correct?
    • Created a form....
    The form is where I am hitting the speed bump. I want a form that can search for the volunteers, like in a drop down list linked to the Volunteers table, and plug the hours in for them. But the catch is, if they are not in the drop down list, I want to be able to write a new volunteer in and hours for the new volunteer. So this would update both tables at the same time, if its a new volunteer.

Hopefully I am making sense. If it doesn't, then say so and I'll try to explain more. I think what I need is a form with a subform. I have yet to try that so it'd be entirely new to me. I'm open to advice and help, like I said I am a novice and hoping this site can help me out.

Thanks,

Vicente

2. OBP

OBP