1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Accessing Email shows 'Page cannot be displayed'

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by FZWG, Sep 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Appreciate some assistance.

    Have an email account (Hotmail) that is acting up lately. Sometimes, instead of downloading an email, get a ‘Page cannot be displayed’ message.

    Use Internet Explorer 6, and sign in to get Hotmail through a .NET Password.

    The PC has Windows Millennium installed, and the hard drive was just reformatted. All the programs were reinstalled for a fresh start, including IE 6.

    Any ideas as to how to resolve this issue?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    It could be simply a coincidence, but you are the third person I noticed today with a MSN/Messenger/Hotmail problem. I don't know if you recall, but Hotmail had a server problem about a month ago. Could be a replay?

    If everything else seems to be ok, I'd wait a day to see if it gets fixed. It's a thought. :)
     
  3. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Thanks for the reply.

    Do you know what kind of server problem they had?
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Not sure on that FZWG, but I use it off and on, and am not surprised to get that message. Is it working for you right now?
     
  5. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    AcaCandy,

    Sometimes it works just fine, sometimes the dog-gone email will not open up and the 'Page cannot be displayed' comes up.

    Erratic behavior, to say the least.

    Wondering if the: "Incompatible version of RPC stub" issue applies here, since it is Windows Millenium with IE 6.0 installed?
     
  6. rlusher

    rlusher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I am also experiencing the same problem. To resolve it I have tried:

    Turning off all virus scanners and firewalls.
    Uninstalling all virus scanners and firewalls.
    Deleting all History and Temporary Internet Files - Including Cookies.
    Uninstalling MSN Messenger (although this wouldn't affect hotmail).
    Reinstalled Internet Explorer 6.0.

    I've reached my wits end......can anyone suggest anything else I can try?

    P.S. it's nothing 2 do with ISP either because it wasn't working with cable with one company or with a dial-up account with another company.....
     
  7. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    What Operating System are you running?
     
  8. rlusher

    rlusher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I am using Windows XP Home
     
  9. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168337

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice