1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Accessing email through a WRT54G

Discussion in 'Networking' started by cpscdave, Sep 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cpscdave

cpscdave Thread Starter

Hi I apologize if this is a dumb question, I've never worked with networks before. I just installed a Linksys WRT54G router, and I can not access email using outlook express. All the router settings are default cause honestly I didnt know what they all did so better not touch em right?
    I am able to access email through webmail dunno if that matters, and the computer I am specifically having problem is wired through the router, and I havent tried it yet through the wireless one, I'll try that in a bit here.
    The message I get from out look is

The host 'shawmail' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'shawmail', Server: 'shawmail', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 11001, Error Number: 0x800CCC0D

There was of course no problem before the router was installed.
    Looking at the troubleshooting provided by the router it suggested changing the MTU to one of the following: 1492, 1462, 1400, 1362, 1300

Hopefully someone could suggest something else I could try to fix this. Also if there is anything else I should set on the router options please tell me also.
    Thank for you're help
    Dave

2. natcom

natcom

3. natcom

natcom

also can be your virus scanner disable the scanning e-mail functions of testing purposes

4. JohnQ

JohnQ

Hi, I know this is a very old thread, but I was having the same problem and I found this post using a Google search. I searched a lot of pages, I found the same question repeatedly asked, but no answers. The answer is actually quite simple.