Accidental memory downgrade

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tryxb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
6
Have a Packard Bell Platinum 1560 ..upgraded to win98 & put in memory card i THOUGHT would upgrade but when restarted it said i had downgraded and asked me to "boot" which i did and was able to shutdown properly. Reinserted the "original" chip and now i have nothing...doesn't seem to recognize the mouse, keyboard and the monitor is total black. tried win98 boot disk, pb recovery disk.. still nothing. everything was working fine after the 98 upgrade until i did that... if you can PLEASE help me asap. thanks SO much!
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Either you put the memory in incorrectly or broke something in the socket. You should, at the very least get some POST code beeps. Take the memory out completely and see what happens. Win98 wouldn't cause the errors you are describing.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
I'm replying to this because I got an email from Tryxb asking if I would suggest a solution so here I am ... but Rock's reply really covers it pretty well ....

Open up the case and remove and reseat the original old memory like Rock suggested. Memory problems can cause all sorts of strange errors and it sounds like you don't have the Old memory installed correctly or you broke something reinstalling it.
 

tryxb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
6
took all memory out and powered up.. no beeps at all i DID put memory in wrong initially & took it out and put original all back in.. i knew the win98 was ok and that SOMETHING is going on w/memory or other.. the one time i got a series of beeps on boot up.. now i still get nothing.. with memory in or out.. i'm one of those who knows just enough to be dangerous i guess.. what is my next step?
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
3,992
Next step. Check to see if you knocked anything loose while you were replacing the memory. Are you getting any lights when you power on? Try reseating any cards and cables in the area of the memory and put the original memory back in the same slots where you originally removed it from.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
You may have blown the memory, about the only thing I can think of is to try some new and see if it boots.

Also make sure the processor didn't come loose while you where in the case.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
3,992
Brian posted while I was typing but he always gives good advice.

You may have fried the motherboard or the memory but try removing everything except for the cpu, memory, and video card and see if you can get the system to post, If you have onboard video be sure your memory is in the first slot. You could also try clearing the cmos (with a jumper on the motherboard or removing the battery). Any lights, fans, etc?
 

tryxb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
6
:rolleyes: hmm... ok.. i have 2 banks w/2memory cards each... would blowing one of the cards blow them all??? get no beeps on startup.. with or without memory installed...can hear hard drive working.. monitor power light is on but nothing on screen.. no lights on keyboard (except for flash when first powering up) also... i am very "electric" um.. lots of static.. thought was ok but if wasn't... did i totally blow the kibitz on this thing??? please keep giving advice and options.... i do have fans and they are working... do not know about battery in motherboard or how to find or get there
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
You only need memory installed in the first two banks for the unit to work.

Try flip flopping your memory sticks in banks 0 and 1.

It's possible you took out one stick and it's hanging the computer.

Make sure you keep physical contact the the frame of the case while doing it. Keeps you on the same electrical plane as the case.
 

tryxb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
6
i already did that too... took the 2 sticks from bank 0 and put in bank one and vice/versa ... tried with the 2 sticks in only bank 0.. tried with no memory... still nothing i am beyond frustrated at this point.... but please keep helping
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
You may have fried the motherboard or the memory but try removing everything except for the cpu, memory, and video card and see if you can get the system to post, If you have onboard video be sure your memory is in the first slot. You could also try clearing the cmos (with a jumper on the motherboard or removing the battery). Any lights, fans, etc?
About your last option
 

tryxb

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
6
ok.. i need more details on how to do that and how to know for sure what's what so will do more research and see if i can get step by step .. thanks for your help... guess it might be time to send it out... :(
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top