1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

account name changed

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by kjvbible1611, Mar 26, 2020 at 4:13 PM.

Advertisement
  1. kjvbible1611

    kjvbible1611 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    How can my win 10 account name have been changed changed?

    Here is the issue...

    I have a Bother mfc 995 printer.
    I used to be able to set it to do a print preview.
    When I try to do that now I get an error message saying that c:\users\gary was not found.
    All I can find in my c drive is c:\users\(my last name) instead).
    I know for a fact that the latter was never in there.
    Can I assume that maybe Win updates caused this problem?

    I did have the same problem w/ an old HP years ago which did the same thing.
    Gary
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,876
    Go to Control Panel > Programs and Freatures. Uninstall the Brother software. Then re-install it.
     
  3. kjvbible1611

    kjvbible1611 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Did all that with revo uninstaller.
    no change.
    Gary
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,876
    It must be picking up the name 'gary' from somewhere. Whereelse have you used that name.
     
  5. kjvbible1611

    kjvbible1611 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    when i set up the pc.
    But now as said my last name was added.
     
  6. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,876
    What did you do to 'add' the surname? You cannot simply rename the folder under \Users
     
  7. kjvbible1611

    kjvbible1611 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    That is what I'm asking.
    How did it get there.
    Was it a windows update?
    I have no idea.
    And if I do try to change it back to Gary will that allow the print preview to work again or will it mess up the pc?
     
  8. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,876
    You cannot just 'change it back' to Gary. You have to create a new account named Gary , move the documents and photos over, and then delete the Surname account.
     
  9. kjvbible1611

    kjvbible1611 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Again would that allow maybe for the print preview to work again?
     
  10. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,876
    Don't know. I can only go by the clues you gave me. I dont have a Brother printer.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1242118

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice