1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acer Aspire 3694 laptop keeps cutting out

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jobec, Jul 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jobec

Jobec Thread Starter

Hi, I've got an Acer Aspire 3694 with 2GB RAM running Windows Vista Basic with SP1. I mostly use it for work, I'm a translator so it's just Word (Office 2007), Windows Mail and then quite a few browser windows. But no resource-hungry stuff. Mostly I sit in the same place so run it off the power cable because the battery only lasts an hour. However lately it's been cutting out without warning while I'm in the middle of things. Then I seem to get power lights eventually if I twiddle about with the power supply point, but have to reboot. It does feel quite hot on my legs and I was wondering if this is because of overheating? Or a faulty power supply? Or lead? Anyone suffered the same or got any ideas? I think I invalidated its guarantee as I upgraded the RAM (Acer were a bit stuffy about that). What could I try? Thanks for any help because it's most disconcerting (and sometimes I end up having to redo stuff). Jobec

2. Megabite

Megabite

First of all you need to keep the intake vent and extractor fan clear of obstruction..if it get hot it will shut down to save the CPU.

Another problem maybe the power jack could be loose as it is a common fault on laptops as the power jack gets knocked a few times and breaks it from the motherboard.

3. Jobec

Jobec Thread Starter