1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acer Aspire laptop very slow

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by computersarecool, Oct 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. computersarecool

    computersarecool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    I've had this since it was new, but I got a more powerful asus laptop for christmas last year.However, thats waiting for a new power supply.

    This Acer was never THIS bad. Even resuming from sleep mode, the mouse lags badly, sometimes freezing for a few seconds. Chrome takes forever to load. Facebook freezes often. Even using the start menu, it lags. The final straw was when I went to delete a small text document, the entire laptop froze solid and needed to be rebooted.

    You guys have helped me in the past, so i'm sure its possible to be fixed. I have tried: uninstalling things, Malwarebytes, Ccleaner.

    Acer Aspire 7741z
    Intel Pentium p6200 (2.3GHz, 3MB L3 cache
    Intel HD Graphics
    4 GB DDR3 RAM
     
  2. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,361
    One sure way to get rid of all the cobwebs is to DBAN and then reinstall Windows.
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,236
    First Name:
    Cody
    Hello computersarecool,

    Please do the following. :)

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    TSG Information Utility
    • Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe).
    • After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    • Information about your computer will appear.
    • Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the entire text here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------

    MsConfig
    • Press and hold the Windows button + R on your keyboard.
    • In the Run box, type MSCONFIG and hit Enter.
    • Click the "Startup" tab.
    • Write down only the names in the "Startup Item" column that have a checkmark next to them.
    • If the "Startup Item" column isn't wide enough to see the entire name of any of them, widen the column.
    • Submit those names here in a vertical list.
    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Task Manager - Processes
    • Right-click the Taskbar and choose Start Task Manager.
    • Click the Processes tab and let your computer run for a few minutes as you normally would.
    • Click the Memory column, sorting the processes by how much memory they consume from greatest (top) to least (bottom).
    • Take a screenshot of this windows and include it in your next reply.
     
  4. computersarecool

    computersarecool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU P6200 @ 2.13GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3764 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1754 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 290143 MB, Free - 206811 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, JE70_CP
    Antivirus: Avira Desktop, Updated and Enabled



    Startup items:

    MyWinLocker
    Intel(R) Common User Interface
    Realtek HD Audio Manager
    Synaptics Pointing Device Driver
    Power Management
    IconUtility
    Logitech Download Assistant
    Canon My Printer
    CCleaner
    Acer Backup Manager
    MyWinLocker Suite
    EgisTec In-Product Service
    Launch Manager
    Nikon Message Center 2
    Canon Solution Menu EX
    Quicktime
    Avira Product Family
    Avira.OE.Systray
     
  5. computersarecool

    computersarecool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    596
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,236
    First Name:
    Cody
    Given just the screenshot of Task Manager, it doesn't look like your computer is under much stress from processes alone.

    Are you experiencing any issues other than slowness? Any signs of malware?

    Please do the following.

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    MsConfig Edit
    • Press and hold the Windows button + R on your keyboard.
    • In the Run box, type MSCONFIG and hit Enter.
    • Click the Startup tab.
    • Remove checkmarks from the following entries:

      Intel(R) Common User Interface

      Realtek HD Audio Manager

      Power Management

      IconUtility

      Logitech Download Assistant

      Canon My Printer

      CCleaner

      Acer Backup Manager

      EgisTec In-Product Service

      Launch Manager

      Nikon Message Center 2

      Canon Solution Menu EX

      Quicktime

    • Click OK.
    • Reboot the machine.
    • Once in Windows, you will receive a prompt alerting you of the changes we made.
    • Place a checkmark in the box and click OK.
    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Once this is complete, reboot your computer.

    Once rebooted, do the following.

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Task Manager - Resource Usage
    • Right-click the Taskbar and choose Start Task Manager.
    • Click the Performance tab and let your computer run for a few minutes as you normally would.
    • Take a screenshot of this windows and include it in your next reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Lastly, let me know how your computer is doing. (y)
     
  7. computersarecool

    computersarecool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Nothing else wrong with it, its just very slow.

    [​IMG]

    Also with the keyboard, I have to hit some keys harder or more than once before it registers. And the back of the screen (the laptop plastic body itself, right above the hinge) has a large crack in it.
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,236
    First Name:
    Cody
    The first item may be because of the slowness, but the crack is obviously a physical issue -- can't do much about that from here. :D

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    Given the resource usage screenshot in Task Manager as well, it doesn't look like your computer is under any type of heavy load, and you also have sufficient hardware for modern (basic) computing.

    I would like for you to work with a Malware Removal Specialist to rule out malware as the cause of your slowness. Please see the information below.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    Post to Virus & Other Malware Removal Section

    You need to start a thread in the Virus & Other Malware Removal section of this site.

    Before you post though, you need to read this guide.

    ----------

    Malware Removal Restrictions

    Only Malware Removal Specialists [​IMG], Malware Removal Trainees [​IMG], and Trusted Advisors [​IMG] are allowed to assist with malware removal of any kind.

    If anyone without these designations offers advice on malware removal do not follow them, and report their post.
     
  9. computersarecool

    computersarecool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    No its the keyboard I think, it happens even on a live linux USB.
     
  10. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,236
    First Name:
    Cody
    Ah, ok. (y)

    In case you got this impression, the suggestion to screen for malware was not based solely on that though.
     
  11. computersarecool

    computersarecool Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    I posted on the Malware thread a while ago, its been ignored.
     
  12. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,236
    First Name:
    Cody
    I found your other thread here, and that is quite a while for now one to reply.

    Having said that, that section of the forum is open to trained helpers only (who there are very few of) so the quality of help goes up, but the initial response time increases.

    Feel free to "bump" your thread by typing "bumping thread due to no response" and it will refresh in the list on that forum.

    Only do this if your thread is inactive for at least 24 hours though.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    In the meantime you can try the following.

    CHKDSK
    • Press and hold the Windows button + R on your keyboard.
    • In the Run box, type CMD and hit Enter.
    • In Command Prompt, type CHKDSK /f and hit Enter.
    • At the prompt, type Y and hit Enter.
    • Reboot the machine.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1134999

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice