1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acer Aspire M3970 LAN and Wireless Problems

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Kurorai, Aug 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hey Guys,

    Had my desktop PC (Acer Aspire M3970) for about 11 months now, 2 days ago the LAN and wireless network adapters have stopped working. When i troubleshoot the problem it says the network adapters are having problems with their drivers, so I updated them from the Acer website. Still they don't work, I have system restored, Nothing! I went delved further into my adapters settings and it said "windows couldn't automatically bind the IP protocol to the network adapters" for both of them.

    Additional Info:
    Running windows home premium 64bit,
    BT home hub which other computers can connect to,
    Can connect to a network with wireless but says I have "Limited Connectivity"
    Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller,
    Ralink 802.11n Wireless LAN card,
    -both network adapters have never had any problems before.

    Could someone please help, i'm losing my mind as nothing i've tried has worked!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
    doesnt sound like the issue - but acer provide a trail version of mcafee

    have a read here http://forums.techguy.org/networking/1065830-customers-may-experience-loss-network.html

    try safe mode with networking
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Safemode with networking
    with a cable connected from PC to router
    check the cable - see if there is a light on the router associated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    if this is not the case can we see an ipconfig /all and a device manager screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Hi,
    The safe mode with networking didn't do anything.
    Here's the ipconfig /all



    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Charlie-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    And there is a screen shot of the devices,
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
    you do not have any adapters showing in that ipconfig /all

    try a tcp/ip stack repair - see below

    also post back the services - see below

    if that does nothing then try a restore to before the issue started - see below
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Status of Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

    To do this goto

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    SERVICES.MSC

    OR
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
    If the service is set to Started or Stopped
    and
    If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If any of those services are not started/running,
    then right click on the service
    then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

    for each dependancy entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.

    ---------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Restore PC to an Earlier Date & Time

    Go Start>>All Programs>>Accessories>>System Tools>>System Restore

    • Click in the radio button Choose a different restore point
    • Click Next
    • put a tick in Show more restore points
    • Pick a Date before this happened
    • Click Next
    This should restore the PC to that time & date


    windows 7
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/700-system-restore.html
     
  5. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Here are the resets
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Charlie>netsh winsock reset

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Users\Charlie>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Users\Charlie>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Users\Charlie>

    Doing the services now.
     
  6. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) - Started-Automatic
    Computer Browser - Not running-Manual-Dependencies: Server Started,Automatic & Workstation Started,Automatic
    DHCP Client - Started-Automatic
    DNS Client - Started-Automatic
    Network Connections - Started-Automatic
    Network Location Awareness - Started-Automatic
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC) - Started-Automatic
    Server - Started-Automatic
    TCP/IP Netbios helper - Started-Automatic
    WLAN AutoConfig - Started-Automatic
    Workstation - Started-Automatic
     
  7. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    I have already done at least 2 system restores to a date before the problem and neither made any difference
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
    i would now remove the adapters from device manager - right click on the adapter and remove/uninstall - restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and reinstall the adapters and drivers

    now see if they appear in ipconfig /all
     
  9. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    They do still not appear, same as before!
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
  11. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    I don't have the recovery DVDs but i am running the sfc /scannow
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
  13. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    The sfc /scannow didn't find any "integrity violations".
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,958
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG etc

    acers often come with mcafee - lets remove mcafee - i have seen a example where the firewall has caused this type of issue


    Mcafee Removal Tool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

    http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. Kurorai

    Kurorai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    I have AVG, already uninstalled Mcaffee
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1066409