1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Acer Aspire One Boot Failure

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by IcarusFalling, Sep 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. IcarusFalling

IcarusFalling Thread Starter

This is my first time ever needing to ask a question online for any reason, I can usually find the information I require; this time however, I cannot.

I have an Acer Aspire One (D250-1962) that I haven't been able to figure out, after what feels like exhausting every option, I am about to give up on it, which I'd really like not too since the hardware still seems functional in every way.

After turning the machine on it takes an abnormal amount of time -- 30 seconds or so -- to enter POST. It will display the ACER screen with Fast boot mode enabled and the POST info when disabled. In either instance, the screen only appears for 1 second, enough time to see it detect the HDD and to see the F2 (bios) and F12 (boot order) options.

I can access the BIOS, it will detect the HDD and appears to work normally. I can enter the boot menu also.

The problem occurs immediately after the POST when accessing the HDD. The screen flashes a lit black, then turns completely black with no back light, then after about a literal minute it will restart and repeat.

I have tried multiple HDD's and they both have the same issue. I have also ran diagnostics on the RAM. If I remove the HDD it will report back that No Bootable Media was detected (whereas it auto reboots with the HDD in, it will not auto reboot in this case). I've tried to boot from Windows AND Linux DVD/CD's as well as USB drives with bootable Linux, the problem is that in POST, the PC WILL NOT DETECT ANY USB DEVICES, and that goes for in the BIOS as well.